Enjoy an organic off grid farm, close to Fortuna

Country

Costa Rica

updated  

Favourited 1233 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    57  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    545

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Please contact me in Spanish or English.
    Contactame en ESPAÑOL o INGLES por favor.

    I hope you take advantage of the interpersonal exchange between all the people involve when you stay here and also lets keep a comunication clear, direct, respectfull and oportune between all of us please.

    In 2016 i came to live here with the intention of discovering how posible is to just be free and survive, in peace, i did not have faith or doubt, just the wish of jumping into an unknown space of land and nature, away from any source of social and economic support. Just with my tools, one phone and small savings.

    Some years ago (2014) i lived here in this house and i found peace, and spiritual strength thanks God, i want to share with more people that. I like to be aware in that human dimension. And in a close future i want to share that learning with more people who really wants a real change on their existence.

    From January 2017 until June 2021 i have been learning what is needed for farming here, and also making this area able to stand over weather change, and also removing rocks from soil to be able to begin farming; as well rebuilding has been a whole experience since i just knew few basic things in the begining of this. Main sourse of knowledge for me is people.

    Since July 2021 this place is ready to start planting to become selfsustainable and first thing to do is to build a green house, plus i will look for more seeds. You can bring some please.
    Next to the green house i most make my own organic repelents and compost for many the plants in the fields.

    The vision of my project is become a complete big farm, and develop a good relationship with my old and new neighbours, local and internationals, and hopefully build together a functional comunity. And latter to create an cultural center.

    Selfsustainability, holistic and integral health, abundance of food and water are some of my goals and i invite people with vision and desire to work on that vision to come and join for some weeks days, months or even more.

    I have planted and/or harvest seasons fruits, roots, and herbs for seasoning and for medicinal tee.
    Chickens are the only farm animals.

    You are welcome to use herbs and seasoning plants, fruits and roots from the farm for free, however as i am not selfsustainable yet you will need to bring your own food from store wich are 500meters from the house.

    Once the plantations are going ok, i will focus on rebuilding this house with will need some urgent fixing like change the roof.

    About me
    My name is Don Gerson

    I have a good sense of humor, i am very open minded and analitical person, I give and receive respect, undertanding and like to make things always better than yesterday.

    My hobbies
    -Working on farm, wood, constrution, office and health.
    -Take a walk
    -Make cleaning energetic and vibes activities.
    -Take a short hiking trip to the river to swimming there in the most natural way.
    -Satisfy my human need for grow.
    -Pizza, ice cream.

    If you want to support this iniciative with donations or buy any of the products it will be very helpfull and welcome.
    And for now the main incomes are:
    -MotoTaxi for tourist and delivery
    -Gardening mainteninance
    -Medicinal Tinctures
    -Production and sell of CBD oil.

    In my house you will meet dog Kamala. Please mention her when you contact me so i know you readed my profile.

    My policy about alcohol, cigarret and canabis: i understand people who use them, its allowed as long as you can respect the people arround you and still be able of take care of yourself.
    I dont smoke anymore.
    Strong drugs are no welcome here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There will be diferent factors in diferent groups of people here, depends on you the experience, i am an very open man, in the way that i talk about anything you want to talk about and i would do anything that is possible to do together as long as nobody get hurts and we all have a great time.

    I hope you can relax more while you are in CR and be more open while been in my home so you and i can have a better cultural exchange.

    I like to learn, take some short trips in moto or hiking if happens and how things work or not work in Costa Rica.

    Besides CR, there is a little of everywhere over here as there is more people from many countries, and also some of them has teach me new things that i still keep and practice.

    If you have or bring board games i like them.

  • Help

    Help

    Your actitude is the best help you can give me.
    For me is more about love the time that we work than how perfect is done the goal. As you cover your expenses i apreciate any small help as long as is made with love and effort. I am clear, direct, flexible and considered boss

    Fist day of work is always farming work with farming tools, the rest of days is changing according with the moon and the needs of furniture in the house or building some new structure in the farm.

    Fridays is cleaning day of the place in general.

    The schedule of Monday to friday 8 to 12.

    Some things to do, and so i most manage are the next:
    -Furniture related tasks
    -Planting seeds and trees
    -Building (External Kitchen and Green House)
    -Cloning Plants and trees
    -Maintainance and cleaning

    Also, if you dont want to work, there is posibility for renting a place for very good price. Suggestions are welcome and we can negociate always.

    Bring gloves, repelent, sunprotection, and if you can bring rubber boots

    Its ok ONE cold beer after work. No excess please.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are many options:
    Private Shared Room (only girls)
    Couch in the living room
    matres in living room
    Camping tent (i have space for 3 small or one big one smal)
    Hamoock (you bring it)

    Big Natural Shower, toilet, area for laundry, gas kitchen, area to take sunbaths, the little pool in the creek inside the property.

    There is light in the house, but you may want to bring a head flash light with you to be arround the house.

    Smokers can do it out of the roof of the house.
    At bonfire area you can make little meeting, party or ceremony.

    The place is very relax and quiet, you can see iguanas, skirels, vasiliscos, and birds every day, sometimes sloths, and at night in the creek more fish and some crabs and anfibios.
    At knigh you just hear the sound of water falling in the pools on the creek.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Valle Azul HotSprings and 400 years old tree
    Free hotsprings in Arenal
    Bosque Eterno de los Niños (Biggest private natural reserve in Costa Rica)
    Rafting
    Canoppy
    Tour of Hiking on Las Rocas mountain and natural swiming pool in the river (Sundays)
    Honey Bee small trip
    Taking sunbaths at home
    Relaxing Masage
    Ionic Terapy
    Birth Watching
    Motorcicle Tour

    Advices about Costa Rica
    -Be patience with bus schedules and service, especialy out of central valley. Take care of your bags there.
    -Put attention to your bags always in public places and transportation
    -If you stay more than 3 weeks better get a MovilPhonePostPaid Plan

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    If you need internet i give you 2 options. GOOD QUALITY in the house of my friend and neighbour Doña Mati. $3 per Hour MEDIUM QUALITY from my phone when i am at home, enought good to watch use Youtube and texting. ALSO If you come here the best signal is given by Movistar.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Very Safety,good water here and also stores are very close

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    18/20 horas/semanales aprox

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.9)





































Host ref number: 576612475365