Help out on the Isle of Lismore with outdoor tasks

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 494 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  • Description

    Description

    I am a market gardener starting to specialise in lavender. I have 2 acres on the Isle of Lismore on the west coast of Scotland. A magically beautiful place where sea eagles, otters. seals and hundreds of sea birds can often be seen.
    As well as the lavender, I grow vegetables, fruit and soft fruits which I sell to the local cafe and I keep bees. Next door is a farm with sheep and cattle. We would want workaways who would be happy to work between both.
    The island is a very sociable place and there are plenty cultural events throughout the year at which visitors are always welcome. Be warned, though, there is no pub and only one shop!
    We would be looking for Workaways from February onwards

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay

  • Help

    Help

    This would be mostly outdoor and varied: weeding and planting; grass cutting and general chores on the farm. Maintenance of tracks and paths would be vital in winter. As this is the west of Scotland, the weather is unpredictable so good outdoor clothing and boots are necessary - be prepared to get very muddy!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Gaelic.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation in both houses is great - comfortable beds, hot showers and good food. Workaways would be sleeping at the farm and eating at the market garden. The houses are about 200 metres apart.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This part of the world is fantastically beautiful and a delight for nature lovers. There are great opportunities for sailing, kayaking, mountaineering, hillwalking and cycling. Glasgow is an easy train ride away and ferry access to the island is excellent. Edinburgh is a three hour drive or train to Glasgow, then on to Edinburgh. It is also ideally located for travelling further into the Highlands and the Outer Isles.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day





Host ref number: 574885514184