Help me gardening, fencing, painting, housebuilding and share the folk culture in Valdres, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 51 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/05/2022

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a 42 years old man, living together with my 9 years old Golden retriever. I live in a small village called Aurdal, in midle of the district of Valdres, near the majestic Jotunheimen mountains in the southern Norway – 2 and a half hours north of Oslo.

    I work as an undertaker, and run my own company. I have a very flexible but unpredictable working days. I also have a small part-time job as a sexton/caretaker in the local church – 400 m from my house.

    My house is a two and a half floors house from 1900. In the old days there has been bakery, fashion shop and grocery store in the house. Still I have an wood-fired baking oven in my basement. I bought the house in 1997, and have since renovated and restored it back to the former glory. On my property I also have another house – a small log house from 1850. And a garage, a firewood storage, a 60 square meter workshop for woodworking, and the last addition – a consert/dance hall. The consert hall is not finished yet, but i hope it will be during this year. Inside that consert hall I am going to build an church organ. I have collected organ pipes and organ parts the last 25 years, so hope to complete my project within a few years. Maybe there is an organ builder out there who want’s to help me?

    My hobbies are in the direction of culture and tradition. I play the hardanger fiddle – the norwegian type of violin, langeleik – a norwegian type of zitter, and I love to dans folk dance. I have also been studying campanologi (the knowledge about church bells), so I am very often around teaching bellringers how to ring church bell proper, and I am working as a freelance Bell consulant for the Directorate of Cultural Heritage.

    One of my dreams is to be able to use my houses and my property for cultural activities, such as conserts, dance parties, courses and lectures about folk culture - give good people good experiences for both the eyes and the ears, and perhaps also for the stomach. All combined with the beautiful nature of Valdres.

    My wish for this summer.
    A nice, warm, long summer. That wil give me plenty of time to repair/Paint/make new fence around my property, finish inside my consert hall, some small garden Projects, housekeeping, relaxing in the gazebo….. etc.... Come and join me!

    Where do I live?
    The Aurdal village, is a small place with about 700 residents. Aurdal was once the administrative center in the Valdres district. and therefor there are a lot of interesting history, culture and traditions from former days here. In Aurdal we have a hotel – Danebu Kongsgård – situated on top of the hill – close to the Valdres Alpine center. In Aurdal is also a very nice family camp situated close to the lake – Aurdalsfjorden. And we have a 18 hole golf course 5 km from Aurdal centrum.

    The beautiful Valdres region extends from the lush and water rich valleys in the south, to Jotunheimen’s spectacular mountain range in the north. Valdres is a very interesting place if you like culture – culture in different directions - costume tradition, architectural style, food and craft traditions, and also strong traditions in our folk music and folk dance. Valdres has 32 churches, 8 medieval churches - two of them are stone churhes, and 6 of Norway’s 28 remaining medieval wooden stave churches. Valdres is also well known for Jotunheimen National Park, and the famous Besseggen hike.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am more than happy to share my interest and knowledge about culture and traditions, music and dance. And the carpentry workshop is at your disposal. I am happy to be your quide in this lovly valley.

    Valdres has a varied nature. And it is probably most known for cross-country skiing, hiking and cycling, but Fishing in Valdres is increasing in popularity. In summer time horseback riding, rafting, climbing, canoeing and golf are very popular activities. Popular winter activities are alpine skiing, dog sledding, kiting and ice fishing. Valdres also has the most operative sommer mountain farms in Nothern Europe - and many of them are open for visitors. Hiking or cycling between the farms is a great way to explore these areas.

  • Help

    Help

    Special skills are not required, but you must be able to work independently, and preferably be handy. The work will be varied. Everything from building, painting, fencing, gardening, maintenance, housekeeping, cooking etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in the main house. There is one guestroom with a double bed in second floor, and two single rooms in third floor. The house is a cozy house with a lovely atmosphere. There are three fireplaces and many wood stoves. There are two bathrooms in the house which we are sharing. We will also share the kitchen, and eat the meals togehter, if it suits that way. I am not a gourmet chef, but I like to cook. There will be served traditional Norwegian dishes as well as international classic dishes. And you are of course helping with cooking. I will provide all meals, but Ido not have the capacity to provide separate food requirements such as Halal, Kosher, Vegan etc.

    Cooking and basic housekeeping is a part of daily life. All must do their share, so you will be asked to help out in the kitchen and with housecleaning. Normally this is not considered helping time, but exceptions are made for extraordinary housekeeping or housecleaning.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A bicycle will be at your disposition, and some days also my car (just pay a little for the diesel). My parents have a small boat at the lake, and you will be able to borrow that for free.
    There are canoe rental nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 573815236987