Childminding, gardening, building with natural materials and learn from us about ecology in Franche-Comté, France

  • France
  • Favourited 23 times
  • Last activity: 15 Jan 2023




  • Description


    We are a "young" family : me Marie (37), Olivier (40), and little Noham (2,5).
    We would like both to exchange culture, meet nice people and spend time with our little sun (son) baby sitting. We used to renovate our old rocky house in an ecologic way since 3 years.
    There is always projects to build : We finished the 2nd and the 3th floor It's ok, ...and we plan to renovate the 1st floor, for another appartment in our old rocky house.
    We are still gardening in the Organic way with the biodiversity, so "work" is still in progress...
    Our animals to care (so there are in supplement of the local biodiversity !) are 1 independent and lovely cat (Lili), 6 (or seven sometimes) chikens, 3 indians dukes...and 2 male black sheeps (Lynx et Georges).

    Our little village counts around 100 inhabitants on a hillside (the Loue valley, famous from trout fishing and kayaking), in a nice bucolic and lively valley.
    So we choose to live there, in a old rocky house that we renovate by ourself with eco products, with a ochard, a vegetable garden, a piece of wood and a grazing land.
    Olivier and me are working in particular ecological survey, we are both specialists in bat's survey. We are nature lover and worker in general. Marie is also a botanist, and choose to change work for growing organic plants fruits and vegetables. Noham is a lovely little boy, who's always in demand to help us, to do like us !

    We join Workaway Net to "travel at home", to find someone nice and responsible to help us in gardening and transforming fruits in nice products with no sugar addded, animal feeding and house keeping.
    There is always things to do by hands ! Next step : a hoven to bake bread, painting kitchen laboratory on the 1sr flor, organising the cave, to harvest fruits, etc... !
    You're welcome !

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers can learn gardening, nature conservation, at 'home' or in the wild, and particularly botanic and bat's ecolgy. They can learn with us how to renovate, and maintain a house with ecologic construction material. We can exchange slow, green, local and organic feeding life, and many ideas.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We can host workawayer that are ok to help us in the vegetable garden (organic, lively) - or in the ochard (still work to cut and trim or harvest, depend on the season), and to take care of the animals (animal feeding, fence consolidating, changing litter).
    We have also the project to build a traditional bread hoven,... Tell us, there is always something interesting to build and maintain about 'organic' living !

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Greek: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We a room free and You can also camp ! (let's see the pictures of our camping place)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bus station at 6,4 kms and Train station stand at 10 kms from our village. We've got 3 bicycles.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Why not, we have a good internet connexion, but... it's not the case about cellular phone !

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The access to our house is not so evident, but maybe you can try ?? Ask us before, because it depends on how big (large) is your campervan ! Also, there is some nice place to park in the village

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    we can accept cats, or rabbit, but no dogs please !

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day or evening , 5 days a week maximum

Host ref number: 571551283798

Feedback (1)