Learn about horticulture and more on our farm in a village between Vienna and Budapest, Hungary



Favourited 279 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Our small farm is located in a village between Vienna and Budapest, near to the Bakony forest. Since 2013 we try to be more or less self-sufficient - we have a big vegetable garden with many fruit trees, a vineyard, chickens, ducks, sheeps and a nice dog. Since 2015 we are hosting people from all over the world and would be happy to welcome you on our farm.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Creative cooking with wild herbs, experience in horticulture and craft skills, like knife making, constructing, wood work, preserving food, making wine, vinegar and palinka; we can show you survival skills, you can be a part of the daily meditation.

  • Help


    Generally, we work the whole day, and if there is no bigger project going on, you could organize your timetable according to your rhythm. There are many different things to do, for all kinds of skills and preferences.
    We need help in gardening, constructing, cooking, work in the vineyard, haying, animal care, woodwork, help in the house, mowing the grass...Especially during the cold season we do a lot of renovation work on our neighboring house, such as clearing out, chipping off plaster, plastering again, painting, making firewood, preparing the garden, mucking out the sheepfold.
    If you want to stay on our farm in Hungary you should know that it can be very hot in the summertime and cold in the wintertime. The work can be physically hard and you shouldn´t mind getting dirty.
    Because we´re an organic farm we try to do our best with conserving water like using the outside shower in the warm season and the compost toilet. We try to avoid unnecessary trash like single used plastic.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Hungarian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    We provide at least 3 meals a day (because my husband is always hungry). We have a guest room in our house or a nice cabin in the middle of nature, without any comfort about 5 km outside of the village.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are very happy about long-term workawayers, but our minimum time is 2 weeks.
    We pick you up at the train station next to us (Gyömöre / Tet). We provide bikes if you want to make a journey with. The closest cities to visit are Györ and Papa with thermal bathes or you can go hiking or biking in the Bakony forest or visit the famous monastery in Panonhalma with an arboretum and a very old library. For your days off you have a quick connection to Budapest, Vienna and Bratislava.
    You can join us on our daily evening walk to the vinyard, we often have campfires. Sometimes we make a journey or meet some friends where you are always invited to join us. If you need your privacy you´ll find a quite place in our garden.
    This might be an useful webside to plan your journey in Hungary:

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week + help with cooking and doing the dishes and cleaning your room and bathroom

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 569664624364