Join us in a sustainable project in Kvaløya, Norway

  • Norway
  • Favourited 970 times
  • Last activity: 05/02/2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Ark of Kira is a small community in the arctic area of Tromsø.
    The project is to create a sustainable economy, including art and presence in all activities, to be part in the circle of nature, enjoy each moment of life.

    About the project:

    Our mission is:
    -to make a sustainable economy,
    -to create and share the art
    -to hold safe space for people; to serve their transformation, relaxation, healing, spiritual development
    -to practice presence in all activities
    -ecologic way of living with big respect to mother nature.
    -be part of community with opened-heart people
    -just simply enjoy each moment of life

    About the place:

    Place is located in Ersfjordbotn (about 20 km from Tromsø) surrounded by scenic fjord and wild nature. The house was designed and built by Laurent, using only natural materials, with intention to be part of the landscape as much as it is possible.
    At the house you can find traditional baking oven fired with wood, relaxation room with several music instruments, meditation room suitable for healing sessions and apart from that, art in every corner, good vibes and a lot of inspiration. Nearby there is a little cottage, lavvo, chickens and bees house and new builded sauna.

    About us:

    Laurent - owner and creator of the place, multi artist, carpenter, beekeeper, art therapist, sjaman drum maker. Practitioner of intuitive dance, yoga, qi kong, reiki, music. Long experience of living in harmony with Nature.
    Warm heart and opened mind, ready do share with you.

    We are looking for people who already have an experience of living in community and are able to respect help with energy, be possible part of it and help us to serve other people in their needs. You don't need to have an experience in this kind of thing, but we require that you are coming to this place with opened heart and mind, compassion and deep respect for another being.

    We usually need help at house to keep it organized, cleaned and we need people to take care of space around to be ready for our cultural activities . We have more tasks outside during summer and indoor during winter.
    We have some seasonal tasks like gardening, collecting herbs, building etc in summer time and taking care of snow, handcraft in winter. We sometimes may ask you to help with chickens, bees and sometimes we have extra bigger projects like extend sauna, build extention etc. We are trying to adjust work to your possibilities and skills. We would love to hear from you want kind of help you can offer and witch qualities make you unik and spesial.

    Be aware that part of community life
    - preparing food, cleaning after self, taking care of common space is not part of 4-hours work. As we work with energy, sacredness, nature and have open house for different people we want to be sure that you know our values before we agree that you are coming. Please visit our fb page Ark of Kira and see what we are doing. We want to invite people who are respectful to our intention and can help to create our project.

    For this period Fev/ Mars/ April. 2020
    At this moment we are looking someone for period February-March (min 1 month stay).
    This is a time when our space is more quit and there is opportunity to connect with self, nature and arctic spirits on deep level.
    That period Laurent travels abroad and only Helena plus one workaway (you?) will be home. For that reason we are looking for someone who is responsible and ready to do physical work around the house and can take care of himself.
    Main tasks will be: shuffle the snow (if it’s snowing), maintain the house clean and cozy, make food in a creative way using the different ingredients funded in the local area, sometime reaper things, clean and make cozy the cottage for guest following the calendar, eventually introduce then to the local activities, give then suggestions for their stay, take care of chickens, clean and prepare bee brood frames, eventually drive the car.
    Helena can give support, company and also will create some events this period when it’s possible to share and connect with others but her main focus for that period is to work outside the place and partly at home with individual healing sessions so we are looking for someone who can work independently. There can be few days around end of march that you will be alone at house.
    Period February- March Helena is planning to have here: new moon circles, sauna session, intuitive movement and voice for women, inner journey with sound. Also, daily practice with meditation. As a workaway you can be part of that if you want.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Share shamanism practice, drum circle around sacred fire, learn to build shaman drum and rattle, Practice intuitiv dance, qi gong , yoga, sound healing, massage and reiki.
    Meeting others in the activities.
    Enjoy to just be present in all the moment, in all the activities,
    Working some meditation

  • Help


    Be part of the summer activities, organic gardening plant and vegetable, collect herbal plants in nature, help to build extention of sauna, paint house, take care of chickens, help with bees, collect honey, preparing products from bees. Cut wood in the forest .
    Help for our events.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Own room and common kitchen, common bath, living room, meditation room
    Possibility to leave in a lavvo or tent in the sommer time

    One meal per day + breakfast. We cook together. Cooking and cleaning common space is not part of the 4 hours tasks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Trekking in mountain, swimming, fishing, Tromsø, the city is 25 km connection with bus, possible to borrow bicycles.
    Be part of the activities: morgen meditation, qigong, shamanic practices

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 567868269133

Feedback (7)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Learn about Sami culture in Gratangen, Norway
Hangout and help with childminding in Oslo, Norway