Permaculture project in the wonderful, lush hills of Umbria, Parrano, Italy

Country

Italy

new host  

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a group of 4 friends that embarked on a journey towards self-sufficiency, a more sustainable lifestyle and in touch with nature. We have started our farm with the idea of using Permaculture principles and designs. We believe that regenerating the land and increasing biodiversity while farming is possible, and that while doing it we can re-connect with what nature teaches us. We are people with diverse backgrounds: a researcher on sustainability and rural development with a passion for permaculture and eco-building; an excellent pastry maker, cook, natural soap maker (among other things); a knowledgeable restorer of Roman frescoes, artist and yoga teacher; and a farmer\shepherd, cheese-maker, wood artist and a jack of all trades.

    We share the ideals that animals and nature are to be respected and that human connections and sharing are at the center of a Workaway experience (having done some ourselves).
    We are currently just starting the project as of September 2020, we have a rural farm with 9 hectares of land on the beautiful hills of Umbria with lots of olive trees, fruit trees, a stable (sheeps and\or goats coming soon). We are setting up a greenhouse and starting to plan the winter garden. We are also refurbishing an apartment at the ground floor where volunteers can stay, but also have space for tents and campers.

    As we have a mill on the farm to make our own olive oil, our first main objective is to improve the land's fertility, pick the olives from the trees and process it in the farm to make delicious olive oil! We also have in mind to start set up a cheese-making process, build compost toilets, compost showers and other amenities with adobe and wood,

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As we are a group of people, there are many skills that can be learned. From yoga Messina, cooking recipes, to how to make cheese, permaculture design principles, to language exchange (we speak Italian, English, Spanish, Portuguese and French). The place is also right next to the Monte Peglia, a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve. Lots of beautiful sceneries, hikes and outdoor experiences. We are well connected to trains to Perugia, Assisi and Orvieto as famous cities to visit.

  • Help

    Help

    As we are at the beginning stages of our project, there is lots to do! This is a great opportunity to be part of a project, to learn and to also provide ideas and feedback. At the current moment we would like to have someone that has the will to learn how to run a farm. The main tasks at the moment are gardening and building projects.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on how many workaways we will have and on the season (winter or summer), we provide a room with beds, bathroom,kitchen or tents with the shared use of bathrooms and kitchen .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a dedicated studio space with desks for working online as some of us work part time.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of space!

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    We have 2 small sized dogs at the moment, just in case

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 565927393761