Join us on a small organic farm and help us building, planting, gardening & fruitpicking in Lower Bavaria, Germany!

Country

Germany

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are living on an old closed down farm, near a very countriefied village in Lower Bavaria, close to the Austrian border with about 30.000m² (or 7.4 acres) of land around.
    We are my grandmother and me, living in a shared house and a very easy and frugal life with our small garden -more a few beds around the house / farm with different vegetables/plants-, a few fruit trees a few quails during summer and always around 20-40 chickens...
    We would love to give and get impressions and benefits from and to the people sharing house and farm with us...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can have the experience of a veeeery small, but old rural bavarian farm living with all it`s benefits and efforts.

    It`s a very easy and chilled place for people, that want to get out of the rat race and enjoy the easy life.

    This is not the ideal place for party people looking for connecting to other travellers, as there is absolutely no urban structure bigger than 10.000 people within 50km around the farm, but of course we can go to a few smaller clubs/bars a few kilometers away ;)

    It is also possible to get some german or bavarian lessons in trade of a language lesson from your native language ;)

    Get to know how to raise and slaughter fowl, and how to cook traditional bavarian bakery would be a pleasure for us to show you.

    Furthermore there are a few nice spots in the woods around the farm area, where you can just enjoy nature or go mushrooming in autumn or collect wild fruit/berrys...

  • Help

    Help

    Help, we would need in our daily routine, is gardening, projecting organic builds/beds or planting or cutting trees/wood as well as different tasks in agricultural fields etc..
    In the summer month it is also mowing the lawn, weeding in the beds and also harvesting fruit and nuts in the fall month, but nothing physically exploiting, just as far as anybody can go.
    Furthermore, there is always need for work as landscaping, fixing electrics or mechanics on house and vehicles, plastering, laying bricks, roughcasting walls, re-building different stages of the farm or just making a fun spot to be with friends/other workaways/neighbours, but only as far as anybody can go!

    Don´t imagine a 9-5 Workday.... More a 1-3 worksession followed by gathering round the fire :D

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Bavarian, German, English, very small Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Camper Van with 2 beds / enough place for tents / separate heated room in the house/ hammock during summer month -- up to you ;)

    You could have a room, if the camper is too cold (only gas heating in the camper)

    We have a guest toilet in the house / Shared shower also in the house / Outside shower also possible / Outside Toilet is in the making

    Food is made by me/my grandma/us and always depends on how many people we are and what time of the year it is (in summer food is nearly vegan (besides eggs), at least vegetarian - during winter it gets fuller, as we produce and eat our own quail and chicken meat (maximum 2 days a week),

    We sure can cook as the travellers like it, but 100% satisfaction guarantee can´t be given...
    Maybe you also could show us your taste in food or cooking or cultural cooking specialities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is located near a very small town with about 800 inhabitants, and lots of fields, woods, small rivers etc.
    The concept of Work-Away is totally new here and there will not be many people, who know what Work-Away is.

    People here speak quite good English as it is taught in school from childhhood on, but in general the older people don`t... my grandma for example speaks absolutely no English and just ruderal German (anyways she can communicate :D )

    You can spend your time off here with `sightseeing`off-touristic places, talking a walk, meditating, hitch hiking, going to the woods, making art or just be alone with a book in a hammock..

    The transport to us is kind of difficult, as the next bus/train stations are about 10-15km away (Pfarrkichen/Simbach a. Inn/ Braunau a. Inn), the next airport would be about 85km (Salzburg) or 130km (Munich), but we sure can pick you up or drive you to a destination after, as long as it is not a billion km away...

    For me the workaway experience is learning from two sides, the different cultures, but primarily to get to know other people and peoples!


    Just contact me via workaway, we will find a solution for your stay ;) !!! Last Minute Workerwayers welcome ;)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    around 20 hours a week, depends on whats on the agenda (max 25 hours, 5 days a week)

"Franz" the 2018 rooster
outdoor shower view
gooseberries and outdoor shower
"Franz" and his girls
sitting hammock view
the house
wildness and fruit trees
hammock place
apple blossom
quail meat day


Host ref number: 563794752725