Gardening help in Umbria, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 623 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    927

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    October 2019

    We are Torben and Klaartje (= Claire), a Dutch couple living in Umbria, Italy with our two daughters of 12 and 9 years old. We have set up our own business here in Umbria 11 years ago, and have been renting out our big villa consisting of 7 holiday apartments with a communal pool to mainly Dutch & Belgian tourists ever since.
    Apart from hosting tourists for 5 to 6 months a year, we also set up an wine exporting business to Holland and Belgium, some 7 years ago. We now export our own extra vergine olive oil (that we pick in november) and more than 50 different Umbrian wines.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en casa

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will get to know Italian life, will visit lovely cities (if they choose to). They will learn lots about cooking Italian, Umbrian wines, will have lovely interaction with guests. we have become great friends with lots of our helpers, since we first started with Workaway in 2010!

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Hello! we are now looking for Helpers for the month of October 2019

    The main tasks will be gardening, helping clean up around the house, doing small repair stuff, cut wood, etc.
    So you need to be physically fit.

    We look for people who are practical, who work pro-actively even if we can not monitor the work constantly (this is VERY important to us), thus show initiative. We also like to surround ourselves with people who have a positive outlook on life. Preferibly in the ages between 22 - 45. We ask for a minimum of 2 weeks stay for everyone.

    IN GENERAL:
    As our helper, you will help us on 5 days of the week, with 2 days off.

    On your days off, we will take you to train station etc, so you can visit the cities in the neighbourhood. You can easily get to Florence, Rome, Perugia, Orvieto, Siena etc).
    Our helpers cook for themselves when we do not have meals together with the guests during the tourist season.
    We are situated on a hill, but you can walk up to the nearest village (20 minutes) where there is a pizzeria and a bar, and we will always be prepared to drive you to train stations etc.

    Anyone who wants to visit Italy and help us in exchange for a beautiful place to stay: please feel free to contact us! We look forward to meeting you all.

    All the best, ciao ciao, Torben & Klaartje

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, Italian, German, Danish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    From September onwards, our Helpers will be able to stay in any of the vacant guest apartments. They will share apartments, which means that you have your own bedroom but have to share a bathroom with 1 or 2 other helpers.
    Our helpers have acces to their own kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In their time off volunteers can go explore the neighbourhood, lovely cities all around us, most reachable by train or bus. Daytrips to Rome and Florence are also easy!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

























Host ref number: 5592814574d5