Enjoy a farm stay with us, San Rafael, near Mendoza, Argentina.

Country

Argentina

updated  

Favourited 715 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    45  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a energetic couple of Brits who travelled around part of the world on two motorbikes for three years, before settling down to live on a 14 hectare fruit farm (finca) in the winegrowing area of San Rafael, Mendoza Province. Why not come and join us, be part of our family and help alongside us in our daily working environment to discover what life is like on a fruit finca here in Argentina. We have plums, grapes, walnuts on our farm, along with a few apples, pears, apricots and cherries.

    We have a family of two dogs and five cats. We live 16kms out of treelined San Rafael. Life on the farm is tranquil, we live a simple, relaxed (apart from at harvest time) life. We do have a bus service that runs right past our gate into town and we go into town at least once a week should you need a change.

    We are looking for self motivated, energetic people who like a variety of work and who appreciate healthy, peaceful living, good conversation, interesting ideas, scenic beauty and physical activity. We have varying work and would like people with enthusiasm and the right attitude to help us as a team. The help can sometimes be hard, especially at harvest time, and repetitive but we do try our best to keep it varied and informative.

    We are happy to teach our skills to ENTHUSIASTIC travellers. Your own skills could also be useful to us as we are always looking for individuals with practical, hands on experience in all aspects of farming and home improvement.
    We have a fully operational garage where most motorbike repairs can be carried out should you be travelling by motorbike or truck.

    Welcome to San Rafael.
    San Rafael is roughly 200kms south of Mendoza. There are lots of places to go hiking and walking in the area. And we can point you in the right direction of places to visit in your free time. The main local tourist area is Valle Grande which is about 35kms from our farm and is accessible by local bus. It is a very scenic place and the Atuel river runs through this valley where you can go rafting. Up at the top of the valley is the Dam and Reservoir, where you can go zip wiring across the reservoir or take a lazy day lying in the sun. You can go horse riding, parapenting and lake kayaking. There are plenty of campsites in the valley where you could spend a nice weekend. Beyond the valley is the the Atuel Canyon with some great rock formations of varying colours.
    There are a lot of Bodegas in the area which offer wine tours.


    IMPORTANT
    If you are interested in joining us then please make contact , PLEASE remember I only check the internet once every week or ten days, as we do not have internet on the farm!. So it is best if you contact us at least two weeks before you wish to arrive. You are welcome to visit the farm anytime but PLEASE COULD YOU GIVE US AN INDICATION OF WHEN YOU WOULD LIKE TO VISIT AND FOR HOW LONG YOU WISH TO STAY, WHEN YOU MAKE THE INITAL CONTACT. As this saves me time. Thanks
    PLEASE CHECK OUR CALENDER.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our references/photos will confirm to you what other travellers have gained/learned from visiting our farm. Please read them.
    We have knowledge of travelling around South America, as we travelled in the region for 11months on two motorbikes. We also have a barn where motorbikers can do simple repairs and service .to their motorbikes.
    We are happy to share with you our experience.

  • Help

    Help

    Type of help we are looking for:
    Farming
    Harvesting/drying of the plums
    Pruning of the plum trees
    Picking the walnuts
    Help with various projects
    Gardening/Vegetable and herb Garden
    General building work/maintenance
    Making preserves/canning fruits and vegetables
    Making Bread, Pizza’s, etc in our mud oven

    The help is determined by what time of the year you visit us. There is always something to do on a finca, We can advise you of the kind of tasks you will be assisting us with when you contact us. Five hours, five days per week. Weekends free.
    Our days begin early in the summer as it gets hot in the afternoons, this gives you plenty of free time in the afternoon to enjoy our plunge pool, hammocks, books or a visit to the local attractions. We DO NOT supply gloves and you need to have sturdy footwear, and preferably a work shirt and trousers.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish (Not fluent)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a comfortable double bedroom available in our home with access to a shared bathroom. We also have a tent and sleeping bags available should you wish to sleep outside under the clear starry skies. The weather is perfect to camp outdoors during the spring, summer and autumn. (November-December-January-February-March).
    We have camping space for travellers with thier own tent/sleeping bag.

    Three meals per day are provided, on the days you work. (Monday to Friday) Snacks/alcohol/fruit are your responsibility. As we both work all day on the farm along side you, the cooking of the meals is shared by everyone based on a rota system. If you are not such a good cook that’s not such a problem as there is always the washing up to do after each meal. Everyone is expected to do their share in keeping the house clean, especially the bathroom after you have used it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    IMPORTANT:
    We do not have internet on our farm, (you have to go into town where there is good internet access at a number of coffee shops.) PLEASE NOTE: You have to catch the bus that goes straight past our gate to get to town. If you are someone who needs the internet everyday, You SHOULD NOT rely on us to take you into town as we may only go once a week. Please also note that when you send your initial enquiry to come here you should allow us at least 7 days to reply, if you need an answer within a couple of days then it may not happen.
    We will collect you from the bus station on your arrival but it is then up to you to get back into town on the local bus on the day of your departure.
    We have no TV although we have movies and TV series on DVD. We tend to spend the evenings in conversation, watching movies, playing cards and/or reading.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Motorbike Maintenance (John and Joanne)
Weekend relaxing! Music, Asado and Wine
Repairing the mud oven
Nicholas cooks the Asado
Pierre and Guillaume tie up grape canes
Carl and Katy put up new bamboo roof.
Audra and Josh upgrade the chicken pen
Our herb garden
Harvesting Plums




























Host ref number: 549656553319