Permaculture-inspired homestead in Quebec, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 262 times
  • Last activity: 27 May 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Hi :)
    I'm Julien, a passionnate homesteader from Frelighsburg, Quebec, Canada
    I have a large garden on which I'm producing organic vegetables, fine herbs, medicinal plants, edible perennials, seed saving.
    I'm doing a lot of food processing with local ingredients and wild flavors, like maple syrup-bear fermented mustard, lacto-fermented relish and pickles, garlic scape pesto, salsa verde, balsam fir infused honey, wintergreen apple jelly, etc. I'm very creative in the kitchen !
    I also do wild foraging of medicinal plants, edible mushrooms and aromatic plants like coniferous shoots, Labrador Tea, etc
    I'm producing local TEAS with wild plants.
    We are surround by a huge forest, so it is very calm here and beautiful

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You could learn French with me or practice your English
    I've started woofing 8 years ago, so I've worked on different organic farms. I have been nomadic without car, apartment, mobile for 5 years, traveling on hitchhiking all around Quebec with my backpack, until 3 years ago. So, I'll probably understand what you live and so, I definitely want to give you a good experience and make sure you feel at home
    I'm very passionate about what I do and know. So, I'd loved to discuss and share what I know and hear your ideas and experiences. I've learned by myself a lot, experimented a lot, have a tons of hands-on/permaculture books, so you'll learn a lot of stuff with me. That being said, I'm not a 20 years experienced farmer neither, so don't expect that

  • Help


    I'm specifically looking for help at those periods :
    - May 23th to June 2nd in Frelighsburg, Quebec : Opening of the garden ! On of my favorite moments of the year. We'll prepare the beds, sow, transplant, plant the potatoes, etc
    - June 5th to June 23th in Frelighsburg, Quebec : Wild harvesting and production of my very unique local TEAS made of wild plants (raspberry, goldenrod), based on a tradition from Eurasia. we will harvest the leaves, roll them, "ferment", dry and pack them. Very nice production and totally unique
    - June 26th to August 3rd in St-André-de-Kamouraska, Quebec : Same tea production but with fireweed, to made my famous Fireweed tea, also called Ivan Chai ! Picking, rolling, drying my unique local TEAS. In the wonderful region of Kamouraska, along the St Lawrence river where we go chilling and eat dinner on the beach every few days... We will build a small temporary camp along the forest where we will work, eat and chill together. A very unique and nice experience of community ! We camp in tent all around.

    Depending on the season you'll come, tasks will look like :
    - sow, transplant, water, weed, harvest vegetables and herbs in the gardens
    - food process : clean, cut vegetables, pots, clean dishes. I'm a real passionnate and professionnal of lacto-fermentation : sauerkraut, kimchi, curtido, pikliz, pickle, etc
    - clean homegrown seeds / seed saving
    - cooking meals for the farm helpers
    - foraging wild edible plants
    - produce local teas
    - painting the trailer
    - etc
    I'm looking for people really motivated to learn and work about self-sufficiency, organic gardening, permaculture. No experience is needed, although it is an asset.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I can learn some French basics, through work and meal sharing for example.

  • Accommodation


    You'll have the choice to sleep on a futon in a bedroom, or outside in a very large Inuit/Native (!) tent under large trees
    We eat very well here. People really appreciate the quality and diversity of food we have. 95% organic food, mostly vegetarian with organic eggs and a bit of meat. With a lot of fresh veggies, lacto-fermentation, homemade alcohols, wild food, unique flavors. The food can be 100% vegan and gluten free if needed. I like to minimize my wheat and dairy consumption

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are nice forests to walk around the house and a nice track to walk for 20km.
    I have tons of permaculture-related books you could read
    We can go to a river to swim at 5 minutes walk
    I love playing soccer and ultimate frisbee
    You can borrow bicycles to go around on the country road
    The closest cities are 20-30 minutes away

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large parking surround by the forest, where a van can be parked

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 546851558965

Feedback (3)


Wonderful experience in one of the most beautiful area of Montreal, Canada!
Join our family hobby farm and help with gardening, yard work, animals and various outdoor projects in Okotoks, Canada