General around the house assistance and gardening in NC foothills, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 276 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    647

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Very easy-going retired grandude (at least that's what my grandson calls me!) with two dogs (a Jack Russell and a mini-Labradoodle). Converting this historic home in the center of town to a Bed & Breakfast.

    I have several projects around the house, such as gardening, painting, and light carpentry, but just as interested in my guests having a good experience here in the foothills and explore the area! It's a very social little town and you'll be able to meet many interesting people!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Tryon, NC is a small town in the 'foothills' of the Blue Ridge mountains. Although small, it is a very active community with things going on just about every day. A very large equestrian center was recently built here - it hosted the 2018 World Equestrian Games! - and vineyards have become very popular here. We are also within an hour of larger towns such as Asheville, NC and Greenville, SC, and just a few hours from coastal cities like Charleston, SC (where I go often to visit my grandson!). There are many great nature hikes and waterfalls to visit in the area!

    There is a very artsy vibe to the socially progressive town, with several art show openings each month. Tryon has been nicknamed, "The Friendliest Town in the South". The people here have generally retired here after successful careers and spend a lot of time enjoying their golden years having fun with like minded people! Most are very well-traveled and well-educated!

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Covid certainly has been an experience here... it was like musical chairs back in March. I closed down the inn and a houseful of volunteers from workaway and other sites... It was quite the group home, but we had an awesome time for all!

    We have converted a yard to a garden, created a huge firepit patio, stone steps, a lot of gardening, and countless around the house projects.

    Things have slowed down and are getting back to normal. People have gone back to family or their next arrangement.
    One of my workawayers has been here since January and is in and out as other events take place in her life.

    I try to be responsive, but sometimes get really busy, so if I don't get back to you, send another message!

    I really need people who like to get out and about and are here for more than just a place to stay for a couple of weeks... the idea behind the site is to explore the area, go hiking, etc.

    Self-starters and those with creativity and initiative are considered... I'm very flexible about work schedules, but if your daily routine includes sleeping until 11, this probably isn't the place for you!

    Couples are particularly challenging for me to host as there are usually one or two individuals here as well and accommodating a unit of two is difficult!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room... bath may or may not be in room depending on which room is available at the time. Wifi, gas stove in the kitchen, three outdoor porches.

    The 1888 home is 5-bedrooms and fully restored in 2013, with a rear deck and hot tub added in 2017. It is right in the center of Tryon, just a block or two away from restaurants and wine bars. The Tryon Fine Arts Center is directly across the street from my house, and one of the countries oldest membership libraries right next to that!

    I have turned the house into a small, historic B&B so there are lots of daily things to tend to as well as interesting projects!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    At the foothills of the western North Carolina mountains there is plenty to do here... from hiking waterfalls, a nearby world class equestrian center, arts, and music. Near Greenville, Asheille and other enjoyable towns.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day - I'm very easy and more interested in the cultural exchange

The hot tub in the snow is actually pretty cool!
Sammi & Amy enjoy nearby Pearson's Falls
Our first Workawayer (Switzerland) also graciously agreed to model as we toured a local plantation!
My grandson and I take a break on the hike to Pearson's Falls
Sammi (Vietnam) powerwashes the back porch!
Amy (Vietnam) powerwashing the rear deck
Amy & Sammi enjoying their first ride in a convertable on the Blue Ridge Parkway
Taking a nap on Sullivan's Island while my Jack Russell, Cooper, looks on
Guest bedroom
Guest bedroom
Sunrise nap on Sullivan's Island!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)
















Host ref number: 546766295762