Help us on our small hobby farm and in our home in the beautiful Hegranes, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Last minute

Favourited 1153 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2022

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple Steinunn Arndís and Jóhann.
    We have a small farm near Sauðárkrókur.
    We have 14 horses, 10 sheeps, 10 hens, 2 dogs and 1 cat.
    We also have a small fishing boat.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a very beautiful part of Iceland, called Hegranes, just 7 km from Sauðárkrókur.

    The main attraction nearby is Grettislaug, Drangey, Glaumbær, Hólar í Hjaltadal, all these places are historical places in Iceland.

    Here on the farm you can go horseback riding, take a trip on the fishing boat with us when we go fishing

  • Help

    Help

    We have horses, sheeps, hens, dogs and cats.

    The animals are all around us beside the sheeps that goes to the mountains in the summer and are shepherd in the fall.

    What we are expecting from our workawayers is to be a helping hand in all the task you will find in our hobby farm.
    That can be doing the laundry and the dishes, feeding the animals and riding the horses.
    Just like being a part of the family and do things the family is doing.
    Also we love it when they cook something from there country :)
    We are looking for someone who loves horses and other animals.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Danish: Intermediate
    Faroese: Intermediate
    Swedish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers get their own room.

    Sometime we have visitors so it an be crowded, and we may have to do some rotation for a couple of days

    We provide all food and dinner is made for everyone. People have to make their own breakfast and lunch. We provide all food.
    There is 7 km to the nearest public transport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 25 hours a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


















Host ref number: 543836337642