Come and help us in our organic farm and enjoy the beautiful nature of Imbabura, Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

Favourited 49 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/12/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello friends! We are Ińes, Rodrigo and Maria.
    We have three dogs, five cats, two geese and a duck.
    We are located in the province of Imbabura, in the canton Pimampiro, next to the Mataqui river.

    We are starting an organic agriculture project.
    On the farm we have different fruit trees such as: lemon, orange, tangerine, lime, papaya, avocado, guava, ovo, blackberry and aromatic herbs.
    We also have planted: banana, naranjilla, coconut, cassava, sweet potato, nispero, pitahaya, pomegranate, guanábana, cherimoya, nectarine and apples.
    I, Ines, cultivate different ornamental flowers and orchids which fill the farm in beauty and colors.

    As well we have a trout and tilapia hatchery with a system of pools and dams that is constantly supplied with the river water. These are tasted daily in our restaurant!

    Along us lives señor Juan Carlos, who works the Jade stone.
    In his workshop he carves sculptures, manufactures different kitchen items; plates , mortars and so also different art work and crafts.

    Here you can cool off in the crystal clear and regenerating water of the river, meet wild ducks and observe different types of birds, including different varieties of hummingbird.
    As well as enjoying the orchestra of toads and frogs during the night.


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Hola amigos! Nosotros somos Ińes,Rodrigo y Maria.
    Tenemos tres perros, cinco gatos, dos gansos y un pato.
    Estamos ubicados por la provincia de Imbabura,en el cantón Pimampiro Junto al río Mataqui.

    Estamos comenzando un proyecto de agricultura orgánica.
    En la finca tenemos diferente árboles frutales como: limón, naranja, mandarina, lima, papaya, aguacate, guayaba, ovo, mora é yerbas aromáticas.
    También tenemos sembrado: plátano , naranjilla, coco, yuca, camote, nispero, pitahaya, granada, guanábana, chirimoya, nectarina y manzanas.
    Ińes, en su tiempo libre cultiva diferentes flores ornamentales y orquídeas las cuales llenan la finca en belleza y colores.

    A de mas tenemos un criadero de truchas y tilapias con un sistema de piscinas y represas que constantemente es abastecido con el agua del rió. Estas son degustadas diariamente en nuestro restaurante

    Junto a nosotros vive el señor Juan Carlos, el cual trabaja la piedra Jade.
    En su taller talla esculturas, fabrica diferente artículos de cocina; como platos, morteros y así también diferente artesanías.

    En nuestro hogar pueden refrescarse en el agua cristalina y regeneradora del rió, encontrarse con patos silvestres y observar distintos tipos aves, entre ellas diferentes variedades de colibrí.
    Como así también disfrutar durante la noche la orquesta de sapos y ranas.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The volunteers will have the opportunity to know and experience new forms of farming and methods of agriculture and sport fishing.
    Know the stories of our family, our customs and our knowledge of cooking and cultural work with nature.
    So also the opportunity to learn the way of life of local people, visiting different farms and different projects of the association of pimampiro tourism.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Los voluntarios tendrán la oportunidad de conocer y experimentar nuevas formas de cultivo y métodos de agricultura y pesca deportiva.
    conocer las historias de nuestro familia, nuestro costumbres y nuestro conocimiento de la cocina y del trabajo cultural con la naturaleza.
    Así también la oportunidad de aprender la forma de vida de la gente local, visitando diferentes fincas y distintos proyectos de la asociación del turismo de pimampiro.

  • Help

    Help

    We would be happy to have solo travelers but are preferably looking for a couple that likes to share and work with Mother Earth.
    We need help in our organic chakra; fertilizing the plants, sowing, cleaning the weeds, harvesting the fruits and other gardening tasks as well as help in the kitchen.
    We have a small resteraunt as well as help with the daily chores of the house.
    Any kind of experience and ideas that can help us on the farm will be welcome to improve and take the project forward.

    In exchange for your work and help we offer you lodging and three meals a day. (if necessary we can adapt to a vegetarian menu)
    We like to eat together as a family and learn new recipes and secrets of your kitchen ;)

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    estamos buscando una pareja que le agrade compartir y trabajar con la madre tierra.
    Necesitamos ayuda en nuestra chakra orgánica; fertilizando las plantas, sembrando , limpiando las malezas, cosechando los frutos y otras tareas de jardinería.
    Apoyo en el movimiento del restaurante.
    Ayuda con las tareas diarias de la casa.
    Cualquier tipo de experiencia e ideas que nos puedan ayudar en la finca serán bienvenidas para mejorar y sacar el proyecto adelante.

    En intercambio de su trabajo y ayuda le ofrecemos hospedaje y tres comidas al día. (si es necesario podemos adaptarnos a un menú vegetariano)
    Nos gusta comer juntos en familia y conocer nuevas recetas y secretos de su cocina ;)

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    a private cabin with a bed, sheets, pillows, blankets and electric power and all meals included as well as use of the kitchen. We usually eat together and you will get the real Ecuadorian family experience.

    una cabaña privada con una cama, sabanas, almohadas, cobijas y energías eléctrica.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In their free time the volunteers could enjoy different hiking and hiking trails on the mountain and around the river. Knowing the lagoon of Puruhanta, the viewpoint of the bear, the route of the vertigo and the town is Pimampiro (only two kilometers from the farm) and much more!

    They will have transportation available throughout the day to get to different destinations, including the nearby town of Pimampiro, for a cost of $ 0.3 (hitchhiking)!!

    You will be welcomed with open arms into our family.

    En su tiempo libre los voluntarios podrían disfrutar diferentes senderismo y caminos por la montaña y alrededor del rio. Conociendo la laguna de Puruhanta, el mirador del oso,la ruta del vértigo y el pueblo se Pimampiro ( solo dos kilómetros de la finca ) y mucho mas!

    tendrán transporte disponible durante todo el día para llegar a diferente distintos en el costo de $0.35

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximumn 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 543239944178