Come join us and help at our animal shelter near the beach and learn about Nabeul, Tunisia!

Country

Tunisia

Favourited 172 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a veterinarian and I created this animal welfare society 10 years ago. It was my dream and it is a miracle that it still exists. It is difficult to rely on employees here in Tunisia where, in the popular culture, animals are not very much liked!

    I live with my husband and teenage twin sons who have been raised living daily with animals and they are very fond of them. It is for them an unusual childhood compared to other Tunisian children, but they have learned empathy, love of animals, and enjoy their life! It's very important to us that we give our sons the opportunity to learn about other cultures and people, so you are very welcome here in our home.

    Behind our property there are trails and lots of open space lined with vegetable crops, fruit orchards, and you'll probably meet one of the shepherds herding their sheep along the way. It's perfect for going on a relaxing walk or taking in one of our stunning sunsets.

    In the evenings we often go to downtown Nabeul for shopping, dinners, meeting with friends, listening to live music, or to enjoy our favorite ice cream at Sellem!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Animal care
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love sharing a delicious meal together so you will most definitely experience authentic Tunisian food! You can also learn Tunisian Arabic if you like. We have many visitors to the shelter and friends of the society during social events so you will get to know the Tunisian people.

    You will learn how to care for, and even train dogs and cats. If you are a veterinary student, and/or interested, you will take away a multitude of knowledge after spending time with me in the clinic observing surgeries and/or other medical procedures. There are plenty of opportunities to see all different sides of rescuing a sweet animal.

  • Help

    Help

    Our place is an animal welfare society based 5 km from Nabeul, Tunisia. The shelter includes areas for dogs and separate areas for cats. The daily routine for which we need help is feeding the cats and cleaning their areas, feeding the dogs and cleaning their areas, taking the dogs for walks, and playing with them! Rarely, we may need help with the maintenance of doors and fences in the dog areas. We'd love for you to join us when we have fundraising events, if you like.

    Although we have one employee we are really in need of volunteers. The spirit of volunteering is something we treasure, especially if you are an animal lover and are familiar with them!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Arabic

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For the months to come you will be staying in our home where I live with my husband and twin sons (which is adjoined to the shelter and my veterinary clinic). You will have your own private bedroom with space to relax and share the bathroom with my boys. We have an apartment we are renovating that connects to our house and once it is ready, there will be space there as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nabeul is 5 km from the shelter, a seashore touristic city very lively even in winter and known for it's exquisite ceramics and vibrant Souk (an Arabic market place). In your free time you can visit downtown Nabeul, go to the beach, or to Hammamet, a touristic town on the coast about 20 minutes away. There are collective taxis easy to catch and very inexpensive to travel back and forth between the shelter and downtown, as well as to the other cities along the coast.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our loves, India and Marlou. Photo by Elizabeth Mouton
Downtown Nabeul! Photo by Elizabeth Mouton
Precious Amel. Photo by Elizabeth Mouton
Kahla- our silly, fun, and affectionate boy. Photo by Elizabeth Mouton
Working in the clinic. Photo by Amr D.
Wanda and Mila, our pups taking a rest after working, playing, and eating! Photo by Elizabeth Mouton
Our lovely Chatterie. Photo by Elizabeth Mouton
The view from our home. Photo by Elizabeth Mouton
Our new rescue Leyla and her 2 day old babies. Photo by Elizabeth Mouton
A party with friends and family! Photo by Dr. Raoudha Mansour
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 542194879361