Experienced horse trainer in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, Alberta, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    - paid position

    We live in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, in Alberta. This is horse and ranch country, with large open spaces, bush pastures, creek crossings and wild predators. Our family raises cattle for profit and American Quarter Horses for pleasure. We sell the beef from our farm store and market our horses to local NonPro competitors.

    Come and assist our horse trainer. Experience, references and video required. Learn about the Canadian Cowhorse competition, start, train and show our horses. This is a paid position, full time, caring for our horses and training them to show competitively. We attend shows through Alberta in cowhorse clubs (NARCHC and ARCHA) and sometimes ranch horse versatility (ARHVA). There are also many cutting opportunities (ACHA) in the area. Shows are held monthly from May through September with occaisional clinics outside this period. We hope that you will also help us with our marketing program, participating in local events, posting to facebook, instagram etc. and building a network of horse people that are interested in quality horses.

    We have an outdoor arena to ride in, a round pen and free walker under cover, a patience pole (learning to stand tied), plenty of trails through the bush, bridges, gates and a herd of quiet cattle. We have 160 acres at our home location and another 500 acres nearby for grazing. We also have almost 500 acres grazing land in the mountains. We supply the young hores - you bring the desire and passion.

    A private room is provided in our home with shared kitchen, dining area, living room, bedroom. Laundry facilities are provided. When the day is done, enjoy fishing or a quiet canoe ride at the pond, watch for deer and moose on a walk through the bush or relax in the hot tub under the stars.

    Dabble in roping or cutting if you are interested or enjoy mountain riding. On your days off, explore the local area or the mountains nearby. We are close to Banff and can ride the mountains at YaHaTinda on a day trip. We can arrange schedules to allow you time to explore a little or accompany you on a short trip.

    This could be a life-changing opportunity. You bring the desire and drive - we provide the facilities and support your success. Our resident trainer and local professional trainers are available to provide lessons and guidance as you develop your skills. The shows give you a chance to see what is expected and show your work. Entry fees are covered by us for any of our horses. This could work into an opportunity to move permanently to Canada if you are interested.

    Our only restriction is that you not compete directly with us in your spare time. A minimum two year committment is preferred.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about Canadian culture, the western lifestyle, raising grass finished beef in the Alberta foothills, training and showing horses in Reined Cow Horse, Using classic Cowboy skills of riding, roping and cutting.

    We speak excellent English and some French. We have a little Dutch and Spanish.
    On site you can canoe, paddle board, fish, hike, do photography.
    Nearby you can do white water rafting with an outfitting company, hike or ski in the mountains, visit Banff and Jasper.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a full time, professional horse trainer (paid position). We have 2 mature geldings that compete in Cowhorse and versatility. There are 4 broodmares - 3 are very rideable and could even compete. Next we have 2 four year olds - one in Cowhorse, the other in roping. There’s just 1 three year old, ready to ride. We have 2 two year olds and 2 yearlings. One new goal is expected shortly. The job will include barn chores, help with cattle herd and other ranch work as well as horse training.

    We enjoy meeting new people and learning about their home country and culture. There are plenty of different activities working with the horses and cattle. Experience with fence repair and construction, chicken care, dog training would be very helpful.

    Although you will be responsible fir training our horses, every day is different. You might be exercising a horse or spending time with a newborn foal one day, rounding up cattle and/or checking calves another day and harrowing fields or driving the baler the next day.
    We will use the skills you bring and include you in daily ranch life. The cattle will likely be at pasture all summer - requiring basic riding skills to locate, count and check for any health problems.
    Teaching our dogs to herd would be a wonderful bonus!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Dutch: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Interested in learning a little German, Dutch, Italian, Spanish, Finnish etc.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Housing provided - a private fully furnished suite, bathroom, shower, kitchen, dining, living room, laundry facilities.
    Swimming pool & hot tub available, pond with boats & fish, XC ski trails, snow shoeing and trail rides right out the door.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Very close to the mountains for hiking, riding excursions.
    There is very limited public transport. You may need to rent a vehicle for excursions.
    We have plenty of horses for riding in your free time if you are interested.
    This position is for a person who enjoys family life, quiet time in nature.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We live rurally and although the internet is decent, it can have outages or slow periods. We must be flexible in terms of scheduling time to work online. Our location might be suitable for flexible bloggers but not for regular online work.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We live on a ranch so there is plenty of room to park. We can provide electrical plug in and water hose attachment. There is public dump facility in town. Camping is not possible in winter as water connections will freeze. We have available extra rooms for guests with shared bathroom and laundry facilities. Shared family meals.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Please specify your pet type, if they will stay mostly inside your room/campervan or outside. If they have experience with other dogs, cats, cattle and horses. We have 5 resident dogs and 3 cats at the moment.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    8 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 541651216745