Help needed with dogs and ponies in a beautiful English countryside, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 39 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

  • Description


    I lived in Hullavington as a child in a beautiful rambling family home, wonderful garden and stables with ponies and dogs. Idyllic childhood... Many years later our house had to be sold for family reasons. I now live in a small cottage in the the village, but am lucky to have retained some land behind the old house, together with stables. My sister is very supportive but lives abroad and my son is also great but mostly in London. I need a pair of hands to do some manual work, in general outside. I specify below.,

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will benefit from life in a west country village in the beautiful English countryside. Some young people around (some who help with my animals) although they tend to go on holiday in the school holidays. Excellent bus service links the village with Malmesbury and Chippenham. Chippenham has a railway station on the line from London to Bath, Bristol and the South West. Malmesbury is an ancient hilltop town full of Saxon and Norman history. Bath, famous for its Roman baths, Georgian buildings, Jane Austen and beyond. In the other direction are Tetbury (home of Prince Charles/Highrove< Cirencester and the Cotswoldsarea. There are many historic places to visit nearby; Lacock Abbey, Longleat, Berkeley Castle,\Sudeley Castle.

    Anyone with knowledge of horses/ riding skills could expand this.

  • Help


    A family vegetable garden wildlife haven which has become very overgrown needs some attention. I manage pretty well on my own but owing to leg injuries ( one knee doesn’t bend completely )
    I am slow , and . the nettles and brambles are winning. General maintenance/ handyman skills appreciated. There are several outhouses which need 'sorting out'/ clearing , and paddocks (2 acres) needing attention .Four cherished horses from 13 hands to 17 hands which also require attention. Water, hay, droppings etc. Anyone with experience of horses, riding ability would be great. Good riding directly from the village. We will be making hay in a nearby field when the time is right to cut the field. Help with that (stacking bales etc) would be welcome.

    I have friendly 3 Jack Russell terriers and a Labradoodle who live in the house.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. French and Spanish (rusty)

  • Accommodation


    Bedroom (small double bed) in terraced cottage in peaceful Wiltshire village, where I live. Two WCs with basin and one bathroom house in house. TV in room. Wifi. Washing machine. Small garden attched at back of house, Two apple trees . Share kitchen with me. I will provide food, and will cook most evenings for my guest,

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 539575219854