1 / 4

Help making a garden of a very large field in Favara, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 49 times
  • Last activity: 20 Aug 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hi I'm Julie, I live near the lovely seaside town of Cullera only forty minutes from Valencia a beautiful city to spend time in. I've travelled in a motorhome around Europe and been a workaday myself, now recently widowed I find myself needing help at my field, especially watering and a bit of weeding. Bigger projects are making a patio and wooden decking from pallets. The land is very close to Cullera with access to the river at the bottom of the garden, there is plenty of parking for a motorhome whose occupants are non smokers. I teach English so at times help cleaning the flat would be appreciated. My students range from the ages of three to forty-seven so I can connect with all ages. I can offer a room in a non smoking house with a bathroom opposite for your sole use, and wifi. Meals provided on working days and the use of the kitchen at other times. The village has a bus service to Alzira and Cullera where there are plenty of trains to Valencia. There are mountains behind my home offering lots of walking paths, use of a bicycle is available to explore the rice fields and varies beaches. Our village has a supermarket, butcher, greengrocer, chemist, medical centre, post office, barber, hairdresser, bakers and we're not short of a bar or two! The wonderful beach of Cullera is only a 15 minute cycle ride from my land while Carrefour, Lidl, bars, the cinema, Burger King, Mac Donalds and laundrette around 10 minutes again by bike. I speak English and Spanish, understand much Italian and French and have some knowledge of German. I enjoy meeting people who believe life is too short not to be happy and hearing about their travels. I eat a healthy diet, enjoy exercise and a glass of wine!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am English and would be happy to help with the language as I teach English. I have much material to help with this, apart from books there are many movies on DVD and Netflix. There is an English speaking group in Cullera that meet on a Monday and another in Favara on a Thursday. I believe there is a Spanish group in Cullera but I need to check that out. I love the Spanish culture and can share my experiences. Before moving to Spain my husband, an Italian, and I had an Italian restaurant so if pasta is your thing I can teach you what I have learnt.

  • Help


    I would appreciate help clearing the land I have near the river, weeding, even collecting snails! My largest problem now that the weather is getting warmer is watering as I do not live near the land. I usually spend the weekend at the field when I try to complete larger projects.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Communication is the key to living with others and travelling.

  • Accommodation


    A room with a double bed and desk is provided, no air condition only a fan all window have mosquito nets. Opposite the bedroom is a bathroom with shower and bidet. On days that we work at the field a meal will be provided while the use of a well equipped kitchen is available. There is always cereal, bread yoghurt and fruit for breakfast. I must be honest I do not have experience cooking for vegetarians and vegans. Plenty of hard standing for a motorhome at my land in Cullera is also available, this is wild parking like so many motorhomes that make their way to Cullera for the winter.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I feel very fortunate to live in this lush green part of Spain where oranges, avocados and rice are grown. The aroma of orange blossom is an experience you never forget in April. We have many mountain trails behind the village, plenty of beaches to soak up a few rays and even a surf school just a 30 minute cycle ride away. The scenery changes again by the rivers where fishing is a popular sport. All of this is around is close by. If you wish to explore a little further, weekdays there are two trains an hour to Valencia, just a 40 minute journey. The city has much to offer from the old town to the City of Arts and Sciences. Cullera, is a busy place in the summer, many languages can be heard here. During July it holds the Zevara music festival and Medusa in August.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Space for a motorhome however no chemical toilet emptying available this would be expected to be done at an offical place.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I can only accept pets if your stay is at my field. The field is not enclosed so a dog happy to stay close by and not wander off would be possible.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 1 hour per day.

Host ref number: 533385396259