Self sufficient, family place in El Grove, Galicia, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am part of local family related to the work of the land for selfsufficiency and the raising of animals. My nephew, Luis and I are trying to recover the annual sowing and harvesting cycle used by our ancestors.

    We grow pesticide-free products to use for daily homemade cooking, We enjoy experimenting with recipies and cakes. We like making doughs for bread, pizzas and desserts. We can enjoy having a drink at the end of the day, but, we are not kin on drinking while we are working.

    We consider ourselves easy going and open minded to new cultures and different lifestyle. We enjoy sharing experiences and skills and love learning from others. We have a predisposition towards helping and caring for people and animals. At the moment hens and cats are part of the family.

    We are nature lovers and are very much concerned about its care and preservation. We love outdor sports practise as: trekking, swimning, cycling among others.

    The project´s idea is the creation of spaces around the house and garden to implement different artistic and social activities. Our project is in the process of creation, then we are widely open to new ideas.
    Along with it, Luis is into bioconstruction (Kerterre technique) and organic viticulture which knowledge he would be delighted to share.

    We are situated in a very tourist place, with a large influx of people during the Summer, looking for the beauty of the beaches and the natural environment.

    If you like our profile come to visit us. We will be happy to welcome you.








    Estamos ubicados en el Noroeste de España. Es un lugar turístico, con mucha afluencia de personas en tiempo estival, buscando la belleza de las playas y del entorno natural. Somos una familia relacionada con la creación de huertos para la manutención anual de productos libres de pesticicas y la construcción ecológica.
    La producción de la huerta es para autoconsumo, no con fines de venta al público.

    Somos amantes de la naturaleza y estamos interesados en su cuidado y preservación.

    Preparamos comida casera a diario y nos gusta experimentar con nuevas recetas, sobre todo vegetarianas y pasteles.
    A veces nos gusta disfrutar de tomar algo al final del día, pero no durante el trabajo.

    Somos gente sencilla y trabajadora. Estamos abiertos a nuevas culturas y a diferentes estilos de vida. Hemos vivido en el extranjero y también participado en acciones de voluntariarado en nuestros viajes.
    Nos encanta aprender cosas nuevas y ayudar con nuestra experiencia a las personas.

    Nuestra meta poder conservar el legado de nuestros antepasados como homenage a su esfuerzo y trabajo.
    Si te interesa nuestro perfil, vén a conocernos. Estaremos encantados de recibirte.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer possibilities of learning permaculture, vineyard care and production, ecobuilding techniques (kerterre) , the learning and practice of Spanish, Galician, and other languages, cooking and bread making. Possibilities of art, music, meditation and other alternative therapies workshops

    Interaction with hosts will be when voluntary help is offered and at meals time. Any other interactions would be possible.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with gardening, planting and harvesting, including vineyard caring and wine making, DIY, looking after animals, make fences,tidy up spaces, plumbing, carpentry work, restauration work, simple building, bioconstruction ...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Galician: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Gaelic (Scottish): Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am a beginner in German and Gaelic languages. I would like to improve my skills on those languages.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Independent room in a shared house accomodation depending on availability. Possibility of camping in the garden with access to toilet and shower.
    Breakfast and main homemade meal provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a number of interesting places to visit by foot or by bus. Some regular buses take you into town which is 4 km far from the hosting place. A few direct local buses a day can take you arounf the penisula.

    We are far away from Santiago de Compostela about 1 hour by private car. Direct busses take you into El Grove, which take about 2 hours.
    we can arrange to pick you up in advance, as it takes about 5 minutes by car.

    The hosting place is in a small humble near the local beaches and forests, where you can go for walks and visit attractive ethnographic places.
    There are possibilities of eventual local catering work.
    Threre are three cats normally living in the house. Respect and care for animals is required.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is internet connection with wifi. Hosts will have an individual room with free acces to it.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is space for campervans and cars.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    cats and gently dogs are accepted.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Máximo 4-5 horas al día, 5 días a la semana

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)






Host ref number: 521178229356