Come experience the Hobby-farm lifestyle in the Shuswap

Country

Canada

Favourited 114 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Me and my husband are 60+ in years but much younger at heart, especially when we are in the company of ambitious people from all over the world. Our own two "kids", aged 28 and 32, also live in BC. They come visit the farm whenever they can.

    Come join us on our 40 acre hobby farm, 10 minutes from town and lakes. We are situated halfway between Vancouver and Calgary and have a Greyhound bus-stop in town. From May to October, our farm is a meeting place for many travelers from all over the world. Family, friends, B&B guests and volunteers all enjoy good times around the bonfire here - surrounded by wilderness and nature.

    We have been hosting people from all over for many years and really enjoy sharing our hobby farm life and experiences with others! See you soon!
    Your Hosts,
    Vreny and Ruedi

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    We always need help of some kind from spring to fall; come and lend us a hand with our farm animals (sheep, llama, chickens, birds, dogs, cat) and ongoing seasonal projects such as landscaping, home improvements, cutting firewood or working in our big organic garden.

    We also have a lot of fruit trees and berries, which means harvesting, canning and preparing our own food for winter storage. And everyone likes our homemade European-style bread and home cooked seasonal meals, which adds to the feeling of being here!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will have their own living space either in a 5th-wheel, or a camper on the farm.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is situated 10 minutes from the town of Sicamous. Sicamous is located between the beautiful Shuswap Lake and Mara Lake. There are lots of things to do, such as relaxing on the beach, swimming, house-boating, canoeing, fishing, hiking, biking, and golfing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day



Host ref number: 519735122112