Get involved in a variety of activities on an estate on the West Coast of Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 695 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    32  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1064

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE - we are currently looking for one or two people who are skilled in property renovation, including plastering and decorating.

    We are a family-run Estate on the west coast of Scotland, around 2 and a half hours from Glasgow. There are a huge variety of activities to get involved with.
    We have many animals (cows, sheep, chickens, ducks, dogs, cats and horses) and so helpers must like animals. During the summer months we run a seafood cabin. In addition we have holiday cottages which have to be cleaned in between occupants. There are grounds, gardens, houses/buildings that need renovation and maintenance. We are situated in a beautiful area on the coast and there are a range of things to do in Workawayers’ spare time.

    The house and farm are nestled on the beautiful West Coast of Scotland on the peninsular of Kintyre in Argyll. We need help during most of the year to clean and garden as we live in a large rambling house with too many ducks, hens, cats and dogs. There are also the horses to feed and exercise. We accept help from March until October. There are four of us living here permanently with an influx and out flux of visitors all year round. I teach in the local school; Steve, my husband, and Sophie, my sister, work hard to keep everything on the estate going. My father is in his 80s and is a fount of knowledge and stories of the past. Over the festive period the house becomes packed as family from all over the country gather to celebrate. We are experienced hosts who we welcome as one of the family. You are treated as one of us and are given opportunities to learn new skills. Elsewhere on the estate my brother has a small smokehouse and my nephew is trying to develop an eco business using the woodland areas of the estate to promote sustainable living. During the autumn, winter and spring we are repairing and developing the estate and holiday cottages for the tourist season ahead. We eat well and have a good laugh. Please come and join us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Almost all who come here learn a new skill whilst they are here - either in the garden, on the farm, in the properties or helping in the house. Our helpers have always enjoyed the experience of being part of our family - they learn to be responsible for playing a part in the life of the estate. The weather plays an important role in our lives, they may need to be outdoors in all weathers and we will provide protective work clothes. Workawayers learn how to live away from the city, in a simple routine with beautiful surroundings. They will experience a unique way of living in which each member of the family has a role and of which they will be part. We look out for and care about our helpers and ensure that they are given the support and kindness that they may need to flourish away from their normal routines. We are skilled at helping volunteers develop their spoken English and their confidence in themselves and in their ability to learn and adapt to a different culture and way of living.

  • Help

    Help

    Workawayers would be helping alongside family members or estate employees. It would include a range of jobs and activities, some outdoors (such as farm work, gardening or grounds maintenance), some inside (such as house renovation, painting etc). Always something new to learn. Obviously we require hardworking individuals who aren't afraid of work and trying new things. However you will get reasonable time off depending on the weather, and how much work needs to be done. We promise work is always in a fun relaxed atmosphere though!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers will live in the house with the family in a well furnished bedroom with, usually, a private bathroom for their own use (or occasionally to share with other helpers). They will be fed and treated as part of the family for the duration of their stay. For any Workaway wanting more independence, there is a fully equipped static caravan that sleeps up to six people comfortably. If there were a family wanting to volunteer then this is where they would stay and we would expect them to provide their own food but all other expenses would be covered. The bedroom in the house may be shared with one other helper. There’s internet access and there are various TVs throughout the house. There is a piano and guitars.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would prefer to have applications from those ages 18 and above. Our setup is used to having those who wish to improve their language and speak English whilst staying for at least a month.

    We are quite isolated and though we can see the glow of the lights of Glasgow it is a fair trek round the lochs to get there. We have the occasional ceilidh in the village and there is a church. The area is very rural but I drive into Tarbert every day and there is a local bus in and out of Skipness three times a day. However if volunteers can drive and have the relevant documents there is the opportunity to borrow a car and then there is a lot to see and do particularly if someone enjoys beautiful scenery, walks and local history. There are distilleries to visit, islands to explore and castles to capture.
    Our previous helpers have always been very happy with us and we would love to be able to welcome workawayers to our home and way of life. We have made friends for life as have they.
    We live next to the beach so you can swim in their free time, and there are many very local historic sites to explore during your free time.

    Payment - Your hours of help in our business will be paid in accordance with the national minimum wage for the UK (which varies with your age). From late May to the end of September this will certainly apply to all helpers. There will be a deduction for accommodation (this is currently set at £52.85 per week by the UK government). You can be responsible for your own food expenses or if you wish, you can make a contribution to food costs. Generally speaking, you can expect to receive at least £50pw. If you are interested in being here with us then we can explain how it works in more detail.
    As with all exchanges, it is the responsibility of the host and/or helper to ensure they comply with the law and have the correct visa, work permit if required and insurance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, depending on the day




















Host ref number: 518743366193