We are looking for an English speaker to be a Demi-Pair for our almost 4 year old in Madrid, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 170 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!!

    We are a family of 3: Esty (my wife ), Noah (our kid 4 years old and Marta (me). We´ve traveled through workaway (WE ARE ACTIVE WORKAWAYERS as well).

    Our house is in suburb of El Pardo, a small and quite town located 10 km to Madrid City Centre ( Moncloa).

    We are looking for someone who is genuinely looking for a DEMI PAIR position, who wants to teach its own mother tongue to Noah by playing, not just someone who is siting down looking how Noah is. We would like that person to read or make up stories, play with him, look up apps in the net to play with him,.....anything that you consider is good for him to learn will be fine. We have a lot of material that you can use, books, puzzles, websites, songs, flash cards,.....and also we can buy whatever you consider is necesary. It´s not a hard activity but you have to like it , otherwise maybe this is not going to be very enjoiable for you. If you have some experience with children, that would be great, but otherwise what is really important it that you LOVE TEACHING AND PLAYING WITH OUR KID. Also it is very important for us that you are NATIVE SPEAKER OR HAVE A PROFICIENCY LEVEL IN ENGLISH.

    We need to improve our English level because so we would be pleased that you correct our mistakes, since the only way to improve is if someone tells us (overall the pronunciation because in Spanish we don´t have as much sounds as in English).

    From the minute you arrive you will be treated as one of the family and we will also look after you as such. We hope you look after our house as if it was your and do the chores that you would do in any place like tidy the kitchen after the meals, put in and take off the things of the dish washer, keep your bedroom and toilet clean..)


    If you are planing to take Spanish lessons I could recommend you several places, some of them free, that you could do in the morning in Madrid.
    The Universidad Complutense of Madrid is located 10 min by bus from our house with infinity activities and courses for foreigners.

    You'll have free all the mornings, but don´t worry, we´re not strict, if you want to travel some day, or stay in Madrid more time, you'll be able to.The normal schedule would be from 5 to 8.30 in the afternoon, but it could be mornings as well depending on our job shedules.
    Weekends will be free for your own task.

    Anyway, so we will decide the schedule all together.

    As a precaution, we ask to also see a copy of your passport, I hope you understand and respect this, it's because our helpers do live as part of the family and we need to ensure ourselves that we have taken every measure to ensure everyones secure. If you are unwilling to share your details, we are unwilling to share our home with you, please respect that this is for everyones security.
    We also ask for details of next of kin so that we are able to contact them in case something happens to you. In your application, please confirm if you have any allergies and food likes and dislikes, this does not affect anyones application, but does enable me to shop accordingly

    If you think that you could be the person we´re looking for (you like teaching, like babies, are trustworthy, hardworking, has initiative ....') , don´t hesitate to write to us.

    Thank you for taking the time to read our profile and I hope we´re the family that you´re looking for.

    Please feel free to contact us to make any qestion, clear any doubt or anything you need if you are interested.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I´ll help you to find an Spanish course in case you are interested in, some of them will be free.
    I´ll give you a lot of information of cultural places, excursions and events to know people,....

  • Help

    Help

    The main task would be to TEACH ENGLISH TO NOAH THROUGH GAMES, because so he´ll learn the language in a natural way. We have flash cards, different apps in the tablet, puzzles, stories books,magnetics games, legos,..... And a lot of things that you'll be able to use to teach him.

    He loves being with the workawayers beause they are for him like grown up friends, so you'll not have any problem in order he pays you attention.

    From around 16.30 pm to 8.30 pm, we would like you play with him in English. He has a lot of toys and books that you could use to teach him, but it´s important that YOU WANT HIM TO LEARN, I mean that we want you to interact with him and organice games in which both of you can speak in English. He is very dynamic boy, easygoing and eager to play, so be prepared to play a lot.

    Another thing you should do, would be set the table, clear the table, take things out of the dish washer, in general keep the kitchen, your bedroom and bathroom cleaned.

    You'll be able to visit to a lot of places. We have maps, advices,and a lot of information that we'll be more thanglad to share with you.

    If you want to join to us to the plans we do, we´ll be pleased to introduce to our family, friends,... and try you have as much fun as possible.

    In conclusion, we´re looking for SOMEONE WHO LOVES TEACHING KIDS, helpful, with personal initiative, responsible, honesty and trustworthy.

    If you are applying from outside the EU you must have an appropriate visa and health insurance in place.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    ingles, aleman y un poco de Portugues

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our house has 2 floors. Your room will be situated on earth floor as your WC.
    You will have your own bedroom with 1 bed and 2 matress ( a trundle) and your own badroom.

    Meals and food will be discus together.
    Normally you have included 3 meals / day and you will find them already prepare by ourselves.
    We use to cook different kind of very healthy food.
    Our meals will be your meals.

    At the same floor you will find the kitchen and the living room.
    We have an small yard near the kitchen. You can chilling here, reading a book or playing with Noah.
    The Neighborhood is really quiet.
    You will see every day lot of people doing exercise (including us! ) because we are surrounded by countryside and one river.
    Bike paths options are endless!!
    You can also use our bike and if needed with Noah, you can use the car in case you have in order your driving license.

    Our place, El Pardo, is located 20 min to City Center by bus, 10 min by car or 40 min by bike using the bike path.
    The bus stop from/to Moncloa (City Center) is 50 meters from our house door.
    You will find buses every 10 min from 6 am to 23.00 pm. The trip to Moncloa Takes 17 min without trafficjam.
    In Moncloa there is several Metro Lines conections. Ex. To Puerta del Sol or Plaza Mayor (4 stops / 10 min).
    You will find also several bus conections wich runs to cities like Salamanca, Ávila, El Escorial, Aranjuez or Toledo. Trips go and return in one day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    To make sure you have read the whole info, please writte PLUTON on the top of your message.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 518715863777