Any artist looking to flex their skill in Tuscany, Italy?

Country

Italy

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I moved to Tuscany from San Francisco and are working on restoring an old farmhouse. We love travelling and meeting new people from different cultures around the world which is why we found this exchange to be so appealing. We live just outside the walls of an old medieval town (walking distance) and within a 20 min drive from Arezzo, Siena, Pienza, and Montepulciano. If you want to see the country side of Tuscany, this is the place. We may also have a couple of puppies by the time you arrive which will certainly add to the chaos of house renovation.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you are hoping to get your name out there from a marketing perspective this could be the right fit for you. Additionally, we can also help you hone in on your english (if you speak a different language) and or we could practice our italian together! This would also be a great location to see all that southern Tuscany has to offer.

    The town we live in always has some kind of cultural event going on especially in the summer and fall. It is a pretty lively town compared to other small villages in Tuscany that are often described as sleepy. The town also has everything you could need including a grocery store, bars, restaurants, wine shop, gelato shop, general store, church, gas station, and beautiful views. It is close driving distance to other more known medieval towns including Cortona, Siena, and Montepulciano. We are also only about 45 min to an hour from Florence and you can easily catch a train there from the nearby town Arezzo.

  • Help

    Help

    If you are an artist by trade or aspiring artist, we would love your help! We are renovating an old farmhouse to eventually be a B&B. In one of the rooms we want to paint a mural and I am hoping if someone is given an image or image inspiration, they could translate that onto a large / tall wall. Your work would be part of our marketing materials and your name would be displayed for other travelers at the B&B to see both in the house and online.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, some italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As mentioned previously, you will be staying in an old farmhouse that is about a 100 m walk from an old medieval town. The house is restored but we are making additional changes so do not worry - we have heat, AC, and running water :) You will have your own room with a private bathroom and access to all parts of the house. Food will be provided at the house. If you have a special diet you are welcome to use our refrigerator to store food and or make your own.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off there are a ton of other small medieval towns to explore full of history, wineries, hot springs, lakes, beaches. You will need your own transportation as this is the countryside so to see anything outside of our town, a car is needed. However there are buses that connect our town to Arezzo (about a 30 min bus ride) where you can take the train to most major cities like Rome, Florence, Venice, and others.

    We are animal lovers so expect to be around cats and dogs. Our lifestyle is generally laid back where we typically work from 8 to 5 (Mon-Fri) and then start thinking about dinner. We usually have cocktail hour and then create something delicious for the night. We usually always have music going in the background of all different genres and we always enjoy good conversation and easy going people. We almost always have people coming and going from the house delivering things, fixing things, or stopping by to say hi. We live in a very small town so you will very quickly get to know our neighbors and friends of the area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    project completed in 2-3 weeks

Host ref number: 515482599673