Live and help on a small secluded farm in a beautiful area of Cornwall, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a single woman living on a small, secluded farm in a quite valley in Cornwall, which is laid out in permanent pasture providing grazing a small herd of pedigree cattle and a few retired sheep. Although not certified organic, no chemicals or pesticides are used on the land. Its more of an animal sanctuary situation than a livestock farm and at the moment I am trying to transition to a sustainable, plant based farm, while providing the animals with a home.... still working out how to do that in the longer term. I am concerned about the way humankind is treating the planet and climate change and recently joined the Extinction Rebellion gathering in London.
    My background is in art and community work, and I am involved in the local art scene which is very rich in Cornwall. Despite having some cattle here my diet is mostly plant based. I love walking, yoga, meditation and have recently taken up running to keep fit, though get plenty of exercise on the farm. I also love dancing and music ( have started playing saxophone again) and often go to see live music.
    There are often guests staying on the farm with me.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living on the farm is a great opportunity to develop an understanding of contemporary agricultural practices - the joys and the challenges. The farm also provides a great base to learn about Cornwall, past and present and I am happy to introduce any volunteers to the rich cultural life in the area, some of which I am involved with. There is a lot going on down here!
    I am happy to help with English language practice - having completed a TEFL course many moons ago.
    I am also very happy to learn from volunteers, and really hope that it will be an enriching experience for all involved.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for some help maintaining the garden, which has lots of trees and areas for wildlife as well as a small vegetable garden and greenhouse. The hedges around the two large fields also need regular attention during the summer months. There is also some building maintenance work needing done around the house and the yard, and so some carpentry or building skills would be great.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The can offer a comfortable double room in the house, or if preferred more privacy is needed there is a small caravan in the garden that is fine for sleeping in. Vegetarian or vegan meals, or food to make meals, will be provided 5 days a week, when helping on the farm. On the other days there will be access to cooking facilities if needed. The farm is 1 mile from a main road where there are bus connections to nearby town and mainline railway stations.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is situated 1 mile from one of the best surfing beaches in Cornwall. I have a couple of beginners boards I am happy to lend anyone who wants to have a go! The beach can be reached by a 20 minute walk down a private lane. We often get beautiful sunsets over the sea here and it is a lovely area and very popular with tourists. The SW coast path is also close by and well known for its stunning scenery. Cornwall is also famous for its geology - the most diverse in the country, and its rich history its still tangible from the many prehistoric stone circles to the remains of the mining industry which for a short time made Cornwall one of the key places in the industrial revolution.
    There is a thriving arts and cultural scene in the county, and the Tate St Ives is only a few miles from the farm.
    The farm is 1 mile from a main road where there are bus connections to nearby town and mainline railway stations.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 512565569639