Help with natural building on our organic, ecological, off-grid homestead in Mendocino County, Northern California, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 47 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young 40's couple with a toddler living on our organic, ecological, off-grid homestead in Mendocino County, Northern California. Our location is in the forest 35 minutes away from the town of Ukiah, along an unpaved road. A volunteer would be best to have their own vehicle, or at least be prepared for periods of solitude and off-grid self reliance.

    Aside from experience and cultural exchange, we offer most dinners and lunches daily, and a converted van with a futon as private sleeping quarters. There is a shared structure that includes a small kitchen and relaxation area with electricity. We have a beautiful hot shower, and even a solar hot tub!


    Our homestead is super tranquil, with great options for listening to sounds of the forest, relaxing in a hammock in the shade, and even enjoying an evening soak at Irie Springs, our solar hot tub on a hill! With a view! We occasionally invite a few friends to socialize around the campfire, or we may invite you on trips to the ocean or to a reggae show.

    Seth is an avid gardener,carpenter, and surfer, fluent in Spanish. Dandelion is an herbalist and medicine maker. We both love food experimentation, world travel, music and dancing, and our two friendly dogs, Chico and Yuri. We just added a new family member, our baby daughter Lilikoi, so help is especially needed!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will learn many aspects of natural building, primarily plastering, but also strawbale construction, light straw clay, cob, and carpentry and cabinet making. The plastering is a valuable trade skill with precedents throughout ancient and modern history, and in many cultures around the world.

    There is also much to learn about homesteading and permaculture skills here, e.g: gardening, harvesting, food preservation, etc.

  • Help

    Help

    We regularly need help with garden tasks, and landscape maintenanace. Harvesting, drying, and freezing our personal food crops is upcoming throughout September and October.
    We also need carpentry and construction building help. We anticipate building kitchen cabinetry in the near future.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a private sleeping area (a converted van!), and semi-private kitchen and relaxation area in a large tent carport. You also have access to a beautiful bath house shared with us. These areas are slightly removed from our personal living zone and offer plenty of privacy. We will supply you at a minimum with organic garden fruits and vegetables, eggs from our chickens, and some basic provisions that we purchase such as grains and seasonings. We do love to cook as well, and will invite you or prepare for you most dinners, and many lunches and snacks. We love to cook in our solar oven all summer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 511886814382