Help us redecorate out attic appartment, do yoga, kayaking and learn about seaweed in Reine, on the island of Moskenes, Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 1783 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    39  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/09/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1436

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ................................................................
    COVID-19 UPDATE FOR CATOGÅRDEN
    Provided the ever-changing corona restrictions will allow you entry into Norway, then you are more than welcome to send me a note. PS: Also read the chapter about the required length of your stay.

    Here you will find information from the Public health institute of Norway: fhi.no/en/op/novel-coronavirus-facts-advice/facts-and-general-advice/travel-advice-COVID19/ ..before sending us a message.

    ................................................................
    AVAILABLE PLACE FROM SEPTEMBER - JANUARY
    We are able to welcome several workawayers for the months of September-January, as our attic apartment is above a winter closed hotel. The renovations/maintenance mentioned below will be in our private residence and not in the hotel.

    From September - January we will do various renovation projects in our home. We are looking for both skilled- and people with a wish to learn and participate in both construction- and good team work :-)
    ................................................................

    WELCOME!

    My name is Runhild, and together with my son Sverre I live in the beautiful village of Reine.
    I have the latest years been working on transforming our home into a Yoga, Kayak and Seaweed Centre, and a temporary home for adventurous spirits. And we have been proud workaway hosts for a while.

    As the pandemic situation has changed the world, we will for the rest of the year 2020 only be doing personal projects. Therefore it is no business connected to our account at the moment - and we are only seeking to share our home and with volunteers to the Lofoten village life style.

    Our home was originally built to be the squires home, but in the history of this three-storey building - now featuring 10 bedrooms, a yoga and a kayak centre, a handmade wooden gym ... we have a lot of possibilities and plans! Our home was a school for a couple of years, and since the early 70' the house was used as the villages town hall.

    We are located next to the bus stop and ferry to Vinstad and Kjerkfjord. It is 5 km from the ferry connecting Moskenes with Bodø. It is also right next to the local café, restaurant and convenience store, and on the doorstep of many great day hikes, museums and the most spectacular scenery in Lofoten.

    The kitchen is fully equipped with a beautiful view overlooking the fjords. There is also a common lounge with an open fireplace. Over the years previous workawayers have truly transformed the place, turning it into a cozy home as well as a beautiful accommodation business.

    We are looking for people with an open heart, who can be a part of our family - who can stay a minimum of one month, and hopefully longer.

    On a normal year, and due to our previous partly payment situation during the high season, we were particularly in need of workawayers with professional skills such as kayaking or hotel housekeeping. Now we are in need of people who are experienced with carpentry, electrical etc. but most of all we are seeking kind people interested in developing long life friendship and good laughs, who are willing to give a helping hand to our project in return of good vibes and a community based lifestyle. If you are a professional photographer or a skilled amateur with equipment, or if you have a drone, you would probably get a lot of personal material here in the area. You will also have the possibility to earn money by giving your own classes, or combine the stay by being a digital nomade, working online.

    We are also looking for playful people who can be dedicated to do activities with Sverre. He needs to be followed to school, we have a little boat that needs some love from a person with mechanical skills, and we live close to the football field ..He always has a lot of projects in the house, and he needs attention from cool and warm people :-)
    The core of the house is human contact, we include and we accept and we don’t leave anyone behind. If you're looking for a lively and beautiful place in Norway and are strong in the following skills, please send us a message.


    *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️ AND PLEASE NOTE:
    We get a lot of requests as many workawayers want to experience Lofoten, and especially the famous village Reine. But for us this village is our home town, working space and playground for Sverre. Workawayer help is also work - and the reason we need longer stays is because it takes a lot of effort to teach all the newcomers the routines of the house. But most of all we are looking for longer stays to give our youth of the house, a stable and predictable daily life.

    Please send us a message if you fit the description or if you can stay for a month or more. We have so many requests that we don't manage to answer everyone. We apologise for this! But unfortunately we can only reply to the people we think could fit the project.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Lofoten is a beautiful place, with a lot of possibilities for nature lovers. Before this was a place where hikers from all over the world came to challenge themselves, Reine was a fishing village, so fishing and drying stockfish are important activities as well as tourism, and you can experience how the traditional way of living meets modern times in this close-knit community. We can teach you about seaweed and stockfish, and the wonders of Lofoten, but also show you some hospitality and just plain old simple friendship.

    Our home is now mainly an accommodation business, but we also do yoga that you can join for free and if you are an educated teacher yourself, it is possible for you to have your own classes here. That also goes for other skills as dancing, hulahooping, zumba, martial arts, or whatever can be done in the yoga room. If you are a skilled kayaker with BCU or NPF education at level 3, you can maybe get a job in our guiding team. If you bring your own dry suit, you can use the kayak equipment for free in your spare time. Speaking of spare time, this is the perfect place for nature lovers to go hiking and camping - but remember, the weather changes quickly in Lofoten.

    We have been hosts for over two years now, and we have had amazing helpers from all over the world. It has truly been a year of expanding for both my family and the house. The workawayers have impressed me deeply, as beautiful souls, great contributors and new friends for life. I am also so grateful for the fun and help my son found - so thank you all!

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Our vision of 2020 is to make our home into a working hive with good spirit, and to get the house running smoothly towards a healthier world on the other side of the pandemic situation.

    We always need people who is service-oriented and can help us keep the house organised and clean. Among the tasks that need attention for the autumn are:

    Future plans:
    Carpentry and woodwork - attic apartment:
    We will remove some of the office style floors, tare down walls and open the apartment to become a more cozy and funchining place. Molding around the windows, renovate the old cantinas /our kitchen, maybe building a garden veranda and/or sundeck, and even setting up the sauna. We will need to know the whole team before we decide what to exactly do.

    Electrical work:
    Assisting the local electrician in mapping and setting up electricity if your are skilled.

    We share the cooking of meals and live as a little family here. We all help keep the house clean and tidy. Having a driving licence will be useful, but it is definitely not essential for our future workawayers.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house has 10 bedrooms equipped with beds and linen. Depending on the number of volunteers it is possible to have individual space in the low season, but normally in the summer workawayers have to share a room, as our guest rooms will probably be fully booked with customers. We have different spaces to accommodate workawayers so if you have special needs those should be agreed beforehand, but all the beds are new and cozy and the bedlinen is always clean.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Helping out a few hours each day still gives you time to explore the natural beauty of Lofoten.

    Workawayers needs to bring their own working clothes (because then you get something comfortable, and that fits you) and equipment for personal outdoor activity. We provide safety equipment for work, quality food and fluffy beds.

    Our home is vegetarian-friendly, and welcomes open-hearted and caring people.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The view from the small veranda of the kitchen in the 3.floor. The name of the mountain is Olstind. As you can se the stockfish still hanging for the dehydration, the air is fresh, clear but have this smell of fish.
The view from the veranda of the 2.floor. ..This will be one of the jobs I need help with, fiksing the floor (the roof of the entrance) because it has a small leak. When we fix it, it will be a great place to have a barbeque or just enjoying the sun and nature.
In a view from the seaside. The famous "house mountain" of Reine, the Reinebringen in the background. And my lovely and funny son Sverre is riding his bicykle. Here we have been on a "cykle whale safari" loocking at the orcas eating and playing, just below our house. The room for the voulentairs will be 2. floor of the house. I have just bought new beds and carpets for the rooms :-)
Help me to make a yogasenter out of the old townhall in the beautiful Lofoten island, the village of Reine.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.8)























Host ref number: 497747926526