Your Adventure with quirky animals and delicious Italian food starts here in Todi, Central Italy

  • Favourited 108 times
  • Last activity: 22 Jun 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hey there, future workaway wonder-buddies! I'm Guido – your soon-to-be partner-in-adventure, chef extraordinaire, and master of all things delightfully quirky. You know, the type who's one part culinary genius, one part dad-joke enthusiast, and all parts ready to welcome you to my charming abode!

    So, here's the scoop: I recently embarked on a journey of self-discovery, waving goodbye to my old relationship status (don't worry, it was mutual!). Now, I'm embracing the single life and concocting a recipe for happiness, with a sprinkle of laughter and a dash of hard work. What's my secret ingredient, you ask? Well, it's a blend of my undeniable love for sharing hearty meals with friends, my love of crazy animals and indulging in some serious Padel-playing antics.

    You saw the cute dog in the pics, right? Let me introduce you to the real superstar of the show, Ada! She's not just a pet; she's my partner in crime, my confidante in culinary creations, and the chief taste tester of all my kitchen experiments. And let's not forget about our trio of feisty felines, the fabulous three geese (yes, you read that right – geese!), and a lively bunch of clucking companions who rule the roost – my flock of charming chickens. Now, onto the nitty-gritty (but still fabulous) details. Your journey with me will involve a symphony of domestic chores (because even paradise needs a little tidying up), some tender loving care for our fur and feathered friends, and just a sprinkle of gardening – think more "garden party" and less "back-breaking labor." So, if you're ready to roll up your sleeves, laugh at some seriously cheesy jokes, and savor life's finest culinary creations (with a dash of Spanish flair), pack your sense of adventure and come join the Guido brigade! Let's whip up some memories, plant a few laughs, and create a story that's as unique as a cat herding geese – yep, it's gonna be that awesome. Can't wait to meet you, future fellow fun-seeker!

    Cheerfully yours, Guido 🍽️🌼🐾

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I will provide accommodation in our spacious guest bedroom with king-size bed, three meals per day (Breakfast, lunch and dinner) with drinks, free WiFi broadband internet and also plenty time off to explore central Italy. I have made great friends through Workaway and a similar site that we have used for longer and we are open to making so many more friendships! We live only 1.5 hours drive from Rome.

    Since 2012 (originally on another platform), we have hosted people from all over the world. I am keen to host people from countries that we have never hosted before, so I can collect more flags. Of course also happy to host more new friends from the countries we have hosted in the past!

    Flags that we have collected:

    Country Leaderboard (by number of volunteers since 2012 - all platforms)

    1st 🇧🇷🇧🇷🇧🇷🇧🇷🇧🇷🇧🇷🇧🇷🇧🇷🇧🇷
    2nd 🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸
    4th 🇫🇷🇫🇷🇫🇷🇫🇷🇫🇷🇫🇷
    5th 🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺
    6th 🇦🇷🇦🇷🇦🇷🇦🇷

  • Help


    Time for some boring (but important) details.

    ***Please don't send requests for 2023, unfortunately I am fully booked.****

    *The gardening elements below don't count for the November/December Workawayers

    You need to be:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Able to cook (at least for yourself)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Strong enough to push a heavy wheelbarrow.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Enjoy gardening, yard/ garden maintenance
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Capable of VERY physical tasks (carrying branches, digging holes, etc)^
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Have an outgoing and sociable attitude
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Like pets (You can't be afraid of chickens, geese or dogs, nor dislike cats who come near you)

    Most importantly:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ You MUST be self-motivated (i.e if you are alone and the to-do list runs dry, you can find stuff to do)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ In summer, the day starts at 7 am with 1 hour & 20 Minutes of watering plants
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Then all of the furry & feathered family need to have their breakfast

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I speak fluent English, and obviously Italian. But that's not all – I'm also on a mission to conquer the art of Español. ¡Sí, señor y señorita! I'm navigating the wild terrain of Spanish language learning, armed with determination and Duolingo. Can you take me beyond Duolingo?

  • Accommodation


    Spacious guest bedroom with kingsize bed. Breakfast-Lunch-Dinner included (sometimes self-service). We can host two Workawayers*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️, but they would need to sleep in the same bed, so better for a couple or 2 close friends. The Kingsize bed can be made with two bed-sets as there are two separate mattresses, but the two single beds have been fused together, so they don't come apart.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ But I usually only take 1 at a time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Todi is small, yet rich in heritage. Have a coffee on Piazza del Popolo, Discover amazing churches like Tempio di Santa Maria della Consolazione, San Fortunato, the Duomo and for a bit of architectural contrast Santuario dell'Amore Misericordioso. You can check out spectacular views from Parco Della Rocca, Piazza Garibaldi, Giardini Oberdan and my favourite Monastero delle Lucrezie. You can indulge in some non-church history at Palazzo del Capitano and the Cisterne Romane (underground Roman Cisterns).

    Visit other picturesque Umbrian towns such as Orvieto, Perugia, Spoleto and Assisi.
    Explore the landscape Lake Corbara, Lake Trasimeno, Monte Subasio, Piediluco & the Marmore waterfalls and if you are here at the right time - The Flowering of Castelluccio di Norcia.
    And if all the rural life gets too much for you, hop on a SULGA bus directly from Todi to Rome.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We recently updated our home wifi network. It is now good in every room of the house plus our outdoor relaxation spaces. The connection is strong. There is a small desk available for the exclusive use of workawayers.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have hosted a couple with a small motorhome before and we'd be happy to do it again. Just check with us when you contact us.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around 2-5 hours a day, 5 days a week (+ feeding the pets and basic watering on Saturday morning)

Host ref number: 496666915341

Feedback (30)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)