Help me at my (almost!) Self Sustaining property in Tuscany

Country

Italy

Favourited 316 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ***Please read my full profile before you apply & please, do only contact me if you believe you would be suited to my lifestyle ***

    My name is Nicla, a well traveled Italian living in beautiful Montepulciano.

    With the help of volunteers over the last 5yrs, I have managed to reclaim a beautiful parcel of land here in Montepulciano. It has been hard work & it continues to be hard work but the results have been life changing (for me and for returning volunteers!)

    I'm now maintaining the property and trying to be as self sufficient as possible. There is very little that I need to buy to consume now. As I am vegetarian, most of my Breakfasts, Lunches and Dinners come from my own vegetable garden. I like to experiment in the garden. I'm currently trying to grow peanuts, okra, lemongrass, sesame seeds and passion fruit. I've had success with soya beans, chickpeas and of course gorgeous tomatoes, zucchini, eggplant, lettuce & much much more. If the veges aren't eaten fresh, I make pickles and jams, vinegars, body oil out of them.

    I don't like waste. I like to recycle as much as possible, I keep water use to a minimum, reuse items & use my creativity to create things out of items you would otherwise throw away. I even use the rotten fruit that has fallen from the trees to make vinegar for cleaning.

    I've learnt many tricks and recipes from helpers/volunteers over the past 5yrs. I love exchanging ideas with people from all walks of life. I've done a lot of travel myself and have a keen interest in different cultures.

    I'm looking for people who are genuinely interested in a sustainable living, low-waste, vegetarian lifestyle. I would be especially keen to hear from people who have an interest/knowledge in Raw Food, Meditation and Yoga. I am also keen to practice my French. That said, anyone with a genuine interest in all of the above would be very welcome here.

    I would prefer non-smokers and those who are comfortable with light alcohol consumption. Also, if you would like to eat meat, you are free to purchase your own and cook it in your kitchen. No problem.

    *** Stays of minimum 4 weeks. I will consider longer stays after the initial 4 weeks. In fact, I'm actually looking for longer term helpers. A single, a couple. ****

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    Work is in line with the seasons and outside of the heat of the day. I don't 'clock in clock out' but approximately 5hrs a day with a couple of days off a week is the general expectation.

    Work is in line with the capacity of the Helper. It could be in the Vege garden, weeding, making mud flooring, picking fruit off the ground, clearing the land, wood chopping, stacking wood, making jams etc - it all depends on the season.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Lovely, private accommodation in a self contained flat upstairs. 1 bedroom, bathroom + small kitchen and balcony. The view is stunning!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My property is located at the base of Montepulciano town (5km away). There is a bus stop out the front. I can pick you up from Montepulciano train station. I'd be happy to give you a lift somewhere during your stay, if it coordinates with my own travels/errands.

    I provide you with all your breakfast needs. Lunch is generally cooked by me and we eat on the communal table outside, overlooking the property and the views that stretch out over Tuscany. Dinner is often eaten here too. We share the cooking responsibilities when it comes to dinner. It's a joy to be treated to dishes prepared by volunteers from all over the globe.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours maximum


Host ref number: 491931979378