Come and help us with building, painting, gardening, child care and enjoy cultural exchange in Sölvesborg, Sweden



Favourited 117 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

  • Description


    hej, we're a family with 2 kids, originally from switzerland, came to sweden for a sabbatical 6 years ago and got stuck, living in a cosy old farmhouse on the countryside surrounded by a beautiful garden/park and wild forests, trying to keep live slow and simple, renovating another house nearby to be our future paradise in a learning-by-doing-way, hosting many visitors to satisfy our social needs...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    welcome to take a close look on our try to slow down life, escape from some of the compulsions of western living, and building the place of our dreams with our own hands. get an insight in swedish and swiss culture in just one place. enjoy the quiet an beautiful natural surrounding here. watch an autodidact build a house...
    if you're in to music teach us some of your songs and learn some of ours!

  • Help


    depending on your skills / interests you can choose between work in the garden or on the building site.
    building projects 2019: installation of floor-heating system, new wooden floors, new kitchen, interior doors; clayplastering, painting indoor.
    if you like painting: the old farmhouse we live in has a tipical swedish wooden facade in yellow/white, which needs some new colour.
    we're often happy to have someone who can take care of the kids, but only if it fits well and you're into it.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    guesthouse in the woods, trailer in the garden or guest room in our house; there's always more than one option to choose from. we eat rather healthy and like to invest time in preparing food, but try to avoid dogmas. vegetarians and carnivores welcome.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    awesome wild forest just behind the house (with lots of blueberries and mushrooms), about 5km to the sea (we have bicycles), various lakes in the surrounding (we have a boat), table tennis, sauna and hot tube in the garden. bad public transport, just about 2 busses in and out per day. 15km to the next trainstation, we can pick you up by car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

awesome wild forest full of berries and mushroom just behind the house
mali, our youngest, enjoying a beach nearby
dinner in our current garden
possible working field: clay plastering in our future home
we love music, teach us some songs!
mio, gabi, gunnar & mali
possible working surrounding: vegetable garden. in the background our friggebod (=guesthouse), one of three possible accommodations
autumn pleasures
current garden
current garden
spa with hot tube and sauna at our current home

Host ref number: 489831939246