Easy living and lending a hand in a vibrant family home in the cosmopolitan city of Melbourne, AUS

Country

Australia

Favourited 231 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/12/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    964

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    To prospective workawayers. My name is Irene and I live in a gorgeous inner-city suburb in Melbourne called Fairfield, only 25 minutes from Melbourne's thriving CBD by car 40mins by train. I have a daughter Zena who is 24 years old and currently teaching In Korea until March. I have a daughter living at home who is 18 year old called Ophelia. We have the sweetest cavoodle called Ava, a ball of fluff that thinks she is human. We are a family of Greek descent, my parents arrived to Australia in the 1950's but have since called Australia home. From the outset, our family home is quite large. I am an architect who bought a block of land, sub-divided it and built a house on two thirds of the block , keeping the vacant land free until we decided what to do with it. In 2004, we built a second home for the purpose of hosting international students studying English in Melbourne. Today, we have four beautifully-appointed rooms for international students and a very energetic, happy household that is full of life and fond memories. I am now working in a senior position in local government, project manager for a number of community facilities, and have come to the stage where i could really benefit from a willing helping hand around the house. We would like to invite a friendly and able person to help with day-to-day chores. We have the ideal family environment, warm and open. In return, we would like to extend our friendship and knowledge of living like a local in Melbourne. Please feel free to contact us directly.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Elderly Companionship
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in an international household that is lively and has a bright atmosphere. Dinner table discussions in particular are unique and interesting with topics being flavored by varied cultural opinions. Our home environment has the youthfulness of a share house and nurturing and supportive nature, minus the mess. We have helped many students in the past with their English through these discussions as well as colloquial Australian dialogue.

  • Help

    Help

    We would need help with household chores including vacuuming, dusting, mopping, cleaning bathrooms, cooking and maintaining general tidiness. We would also benefit from gardening help, including hedge trimming, pruning, weeding and keeping our vegetable garden healthy.

  • Languages spoken

    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The lucky workawayer will be sleeping in the spacious living room of the student area with a screen for privacy. There is a large bathroom a short walking distance from your area. Your area has a TV table, kitchen nearby bed and bedding and window north-facing with plenty of sunshine and a lovely outlook into the garden. Our section of the home is connected to the section for International students, allowing for a vibrant interaction.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are looking for 4-5 hours of work a day, but this is just a guide and there will be flexibility with the days you complete tasks. So over the weekend, you are more than welcome to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer. We are a short 15 minute walk away from Fairfield Station and it is a short 20 minute commute into the Melbourne CBD. We are a 15 minute bus ride away from an edgy area called Northcote with parks, amazing eateries and really good coffee. We are a family that enjoys showcasing what Melbourne has to offer. You will be welcomed to join us for social and family events. You will be living like a local with us. We also provide bicycles to get around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 489297999447