1 / 5

Help with permaculture and eco-building on our family farm in Ain Draham, Tunisia

  • Favourited 49 times
  • Last activity: 19 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Our family that constitute our community is composed of Omar, Mariem, slim and the little Zakaria. We live in our farm, where we are doing permaculture and eco-building. We have 5 dogs and one cat.
    Currently we do not employ paid staff, all the work is done by our family or friends of our community.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    workawayers will be able to learn and practice permaculture, as well as the technical aspects of an ecological farm. The workawayers will also learn about the different species that are grown, such as trees (plum, fig, olive, etc.) and vegetables (tomato, potato, lettuce, chard, etc.). On the other hand, the workawayers will have some theoretical and practical knowledge about eco-construction.
    Also, the workawayers will be able to discover the fauna and flora of the forest surrounding the farm and the local heritage of the region. Finally, the workawayers will get to know the local food, thanks to the dishes that we cook and share with them with love.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have tasks on the farm all over the year, such as seeding, harvesting, irrigation, pruning, etc. In addition to farming we do eco-building. The work activities depend on the time of year and the agricultural seasons. But eco-construction projects are more important in the summer, while agricultural tasks dominates the other seasons

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Arabic: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    we are convinced that permaculture is an interesting context for language learning and languge improvement. In our community, in addition to speaking our mother tongue which is Arabic, each of us speaks one or more foreign languages. We can exchange this knowledge with the worawayers and learn new languages from them too.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Travellers will share our house, and they will have their own room. We offer meals to workawayers, which we cook with love

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In their free time, guests can explore the surrounding forest by hiking. Several tourist sites and nature reserves are accessible by public transport or by walking for the more courageous. In summer, workawayers can enjoy the Tabarka Sea, which is 40 km from the farm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 489142728331

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





In the deep country of Tunisia but still close to Tunis, help out on our land
Discover our local food and sweets with our family in Sfax, Tunisia