Help needed in our family hotel in Bartin, near the Black Sea

Country

Turkey

Favourited 368 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I and my husband moved to the village in Bartin from Istanbul in 2014 and started running our family mountain hotel. We are in our mid. thirties, and have a daughter who was born in 2014. She was the reason of our decision to move this area, because we wanted to raise her in a naturel environment rather than a big city. My parents also live here with us. Our small hotel in in the skirts of the Kure Mountains which is also a national park with a fantastic nature. Our hotel has 12 rooms, a restaurant, loby and a beautiful garden. We have spring water next to our building. We have a small land as well and my mother does small farming. We also have two big dogs, some cats - kittens, ducks, hens and chickens. We love the nature and the animals.

    We are usually busy during summer time but have some work other times too. We had volunteers from Ukraine, USA, Switzerland, Slovenia, Australia, Mexico, Estonia, Lithuania, Hungary and Germany, until now and enjoyed their stay with us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are two generation family here. Me and my husband are modern face of Turkish culture and my parents are the traditional ones. So the volunteers can experience both. We can teach you Turkish, Turkish cooking, home made bread, cheese, yogurt etc. If the volunteer is eager to learn our culture we are here to share. The area is a typical Turkish village, and people loves foreigners here and they like helping and sharing.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need extra help in our daily routine. You can help us in the hotel (cleaning, laundry, etc.), in the garden ( preparing the soil, planting or picking vegetables, fruits, collecting woods for the fire place etc), maybe feeding animals (they do not need much to do) or with our daughter (she loves playing outside). The duties vary time to time, but we are very flexible. We usually decide your duties when we see what you enjoy doing or you can do the best. We need a person or two who can live with us like a family member. Some workawayers loves integrating the culture, learning new things and asking questions all the time so we learn from each other, share and become friends, but some of them see it only free food and a place to stay to travel and not interested in anything, so we do not like it. We like to have foreigners around, but only if they are respectful, reliable, openminded, friendly, and like helping.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room with bathroom. You may need to share the room with another workawayer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a small village, in a national park (Kure Mountains). The closest town, Ulus is 4 km away from our village. Bartin is 40 km, beautiful, seaside town Amasra is 55 km, and Safranbolu (famous with its houses, saffron and Turkish Delight) is 60 km. There are local transports from Ulus to other towns, and to Istanbul which is 8 hours rive.
    If you like Turkish culture, nature, mountains, and animals then come and experience our way of living here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day
















Host ref number: 488332876938