Help with the rebuilding of our Eco home and land project in a rural valley, Benfeita, Portugal.

Country

Portugal

Favourited 388 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I am a writer and holistic therapist, working with sound, music, dance, and herbs. I live with my 3 children, who are home educated. We have land in a beautiful valley, with a great community, full of inspiring people! We built a shist eco home and lived there until it was destroyed in the big Portuguese firestorm, in October, 2017. We now have caravans on our land and also have a house in the village. We have just received funding for the rebuild of our house and this is due to begin soon. We also are in the process of constructing a semi-ecological outhouse with a shower room, compost loo, workshop, and potential bedroom.

    I have studied permaculture and assisted with teaching courses and like to implement this knowledge, in the creation of our project. We are working towards reviving our forest style, organic vegetable and herb garden. Also this year I would like to rebirth my stock of local flower remedies. Prior to the fire, I had a project to promote flower remedies (similar to the Bach flower remedies) as a therapeutic practitioner and wholesaler. Over 2 years I had created 40 mother tinctures of local herbs and trees and was getting ready to launch the business. Last year the nature around was still in recovery, this year, the herbs are abundant and I wish to restart this project, all the wiser for my prior experience.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    People visiting will get to experience the beauty of the interesting community and environment in which we live. The fire storm was far reaching and 30 local people just in our close community here, like us, lost everything. All others around lost outhouses, tools sheds income, etc etc. Yet here we are, a year and a half on and what amazing community resoursefulness has been shared. We now have a community tool store, a new and thriving alternative education project, a community carpentry workshop is in development and much more besides. In the local village we have an international peoples kitchen that serves lovely food for extremely low prices every Friday and many other community activities and events.

    There are beautiful waterfalls at the head of our valley and other interesting natural places to visit, including the Mata de Margarca; a small nature reserve, above our valley.

    I am also happy to share my skills and experience in the various things that I do, such as making tree and flower essences, healing balms, raw chocolate, colloidal silver alongside the creation of holistic dance spaces and ceremonies for earth healing. I am also involved in alternative education within the community and am a musician and poet. Of course, my availability will depend upon the timing of what priorities are present, according to the seasons and commitments that I have throughout the year.

  • Help

    Help

    I would like help with building an outhouse which is a bathroom, come workshop come potential bedroom, involving mixed materials, including adobe and cob, with a lime and sand render. Other potential jobs on the outhouse are painting, mosaic and tiling. Also, we need help with Tipi construction, including cutting and preparing poles. Using the natural material of 'Shyst' we are making slate paving, and there are various carpentry tasks. Also in the garden, I would like assistance with other things including, pruning, building an irrigation and grey water system, land design, planting and general maintenance.

    My 3 lovely boys, ages 8, 12 and 15 are all an integrated part of this venture and positive input with them is essential and a pleasure, as many friends tell me. General support within the day to days of the life is also very much appreciated. Help is also required for the holistic produce that I make, such as gathering and planting and preparing herbs, so this is another option, for those with interest in these areas.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english and limited portuguese and spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Currently, we have 2 caravans on our land that can be used as accommodation. There are kitchen facilities and running water. We have a usable bathroom in the outhouse, with a shower, sink, bidet and compost toilet. The bathroom is fully functioning, yet there is still beautifying work to be made inside, involving tiling, lime rendering, and mosaic. There is also a small river and a natural dipping pool, at the bottom of the land. Since the fire, the land is reviving amazingly and luckily is looking quite lush again.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area where we live flows with beautiful rivers, streams and waterfalls, offering wonderful bathing places for the heat of the summer. Luckily due to this and a very wet spring the vegetation in the valleys are mostly lush once more. Yet some of the hillsides still show the damage from the fire.

    So, other things of interest.. there are a lot of musicians around and artists . There´s also a wealth of community projects happening such as ajudas (communal work days), transition town activities, alternative currency, environmental awareness, holistic living e.t.c. The village is in walking distance of our home (20 mins), with a small shop for basic provisions and a lovely open air cafe, where wifi is available. There is also a river beach and a small community venue.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week










Host ref number: 488132521514