St Andrews, Scotland. Help needed with handyman work, grass cutting, art projects and some housework.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 118 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    55.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 19 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a hard working, self employed, fun loving lady who has travelled the world and lived on three continents. I have two grown up sons who visit from time to time, to check up on their maverick mother! My husband works away from home for most of the week. I love discussing and learning about different cultures and I am passionate about Scotland's culture, history and landscape. I love decorative painting and restoration of old and unloved furniture and i do some of this at home, and some of that in a lovely little vintage shop that i own nearby. I believe in the kindness in the human spirit and that humour and laughter are essential ingredients to any task or situation. I live in a lovely big house in a fabulous university town, and i used to be an ESL teacher, and am happy to help someone improve their English.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am an ex ESL teacher, and have enjoyed sharing the language learning experience with others. Having learned a foreign language myself,I appreciate the challenges and the rewards! I love my country, Scotland and my town, St Andrews and we would be delighted to help others experience our culture. I like to be outdoors as much as possible and would hope to show others a little of our beautiful natural environment.

  • Help

    Help

    Inside the house, would like help with painting projects, handyman jobs ..painting, simple carpentry in the main. Also to work with me in basic upkeep of housework.
    The garden isnt big, but i'd love help with digging drainage channels and replacing grass area with pebbles/japanese garden project. So there will be some lifting required, Its not back breaking work :) but you would need to be relatively fit and strong.
    I love renovating furniture and would be fun to have help with that too.
    I work in my own business which is close by my house, and i am there 4 part days per week. I have a lovely, friendly Golden Labrador dog who is almost blind but loves walks and cuddles.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Very comfortable modern house with double bed and own bathroom. Walking distance to town centre and bike available for use. meals included.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots of walking trails. Vibrant town of St Andrews with student population, cinema, theatre. Quick bus links to Dundee in 40 mins. Bus and train to Edinburgh in less than 90 mins.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 487447217881