new host  

Enjoy nature while helping us with gardening and DIY in the countryside of the Charente, France

  • Favourited 1 times
  • Last activity: 26 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a semi retired couple who wanted to get away from the rat race, but we are still active and sociable, doing almost all of the work ourselves.

    Our plan is to make our 1 hectare property a sanctuary for people who need therapeutic help, or just enjoy being in nature, trees, meadow, with a nearby quiet sleepy village with not much going on! Blissful peace!

    G is a therapist, healer and teacher, who offers workshops and retreats to other healers and therapists wishing to expand their knowledge. Ideally we would like these to be held here in our peaceful and quiet location, a short walk to the village, and surrounded by trees, the sound of birds and plenty of space to think and find peace.

    G is South African/British.

    A is Dutch, and has also lived in England. He is an engineer by training and competent in a range of technical skills. He enjoys riding his motorbike on our quite but curvy roads!

    Our grown up children visit from time to time, from both the Netherlands and England.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Those who wish to enjoy peace, exchange ideas and have a time of belonging for a while will benefit most. Spiritual and healing, without rituals or any specific practice, there is space mentally and physically to be yourself. Spend time on your own or together, feel free.

    Our expertise can offer you:
    Language: help with English or Dutch.
    Life and Emotions: Life Coaching, Mentoring, Healing.
    DIY: Woodwork skills, ceramics (once the studio is operating).

    Two cats on hand to keep you safe from field mice, and may be willing to teach hunting skills but don’t count on it.

    We are nice, relaxed, helpful and friendly - if you are too we will have a memorable time together!

    There is very little transport available around here, You’d benefit from having your own car to visit local towns and take advantage of the cuisine and culture. The nearest train station is Ruffec, a 20 minute drive away. Angouleme is an hour’s drive from our home. The nearest airports are Limoges or Poitiers, also about an hour’s drive from our home.
    We are able to collect you from one of these if you don’t have transport.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help needed: Garden, DIY

    We need help, mostly with gardening, meadow, and making the property sustainable, therapeutic and easy to maintain. Woodwork or DIY if it’s your thing. If you are an artist you may like to design and implement an area for contemplation. Most people seem to prefer to weed, clear and do maintenance work. It is up to you how much you can or would like to get involved in the dream.

    The property lends itself to off-grid living in the future. Right now it is an old timber works on a gorgeous piece of land.
    The social life is quiet but can be occasionally lively when desired.

    Possible projects:
    House: Insulation, flooring, plastering, building.
    Barn: Concreting floor, rebuilding dilapidated walls, fixing roof.
    Property: Creating areas for contemplation, creating vegetable beds, clearing brambles and weeds.Pathways, stairs where needed. Planting, propagating plants.
    Other: chopping wood, woodwork (benches, decks, doors, stud-work).


    We had a fully equipped ceramic studio, which is currently in storage - as we progress the studio is to be set up. The barn needs a lot of maintenance, floors to be constructed (currently a dirt floor) and roof to be fixed.

    We may take turns to cook or clean up after meals, but this is not essential. We are easy going and sociable.

    We have been concentrating on the house so there has been little progress in the garden, other than to clear brambles and nettles.

    Wood is in abundance, as are tools and space to make things if you are inclined to.

    We need extra hands and muscle, so you would need to be fit and strong. We will build tasks around your ability or interests, sometimes together, or you can work on your own.

    No pets please, we have two cats.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Afrikaans: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are fluent in Dutch and English. Some German and French - enough to get by and learning more French every day.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A separate caravan, fully equipped with double bed, dining area, kitchen and toilet (which would require emptying in the septic tank), more toilet and bathroom shower facilities are in the house.

    Meals: We each take care of our own breakfast, generally sit down together for lunch and again in the evening for dinner. Visitors are free to join us or do their own thing. We provide basic food, you provide your treats and extras.

    We are meat eaters, but happy to join in vegetarian options or provide vegetarian food. Preferably healthy eating, but we do slip into unhealthy habits from time to time and enjoy the local baguettes and treats.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can walk into the village which is 5 minutes away. If you want to travel further (there are some pretty villages, chateaus, rivers nearby) you will need your own vehicle. An little more than hour from Angouleme, Poitiers, Limoges and 15-20 minutes from Confolens, Ruffec, Civray.

    Friendly, sociable people will feel welcome, introverts will have plenty time to be on their own if they prefer that. We do like space too. We have two cats, so no dogs allowed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Fibre wifi available, although can be patchy if too far from the router.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We may have to navigate the terrain to find the best spot, but there are a few nice possibilities under or near trees.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4hrs per day 4–5 days per week flexible

Host ref number: 486783557138

Feedback

Help around our family home, property and horses in Langourla Le Mené, France
Come and help with maintaining, restoring and gardening activities at our farmhouse in Poitou Charentes, France