Help on a permaculture project in Bergama, Turkey

Country

Turkey

updated  

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello Workawayers,

    I am happy to have this opportunity to share my projects with you. I am eager to meet like-minded people who are interested in participating in my cultural and environmental initiatives.

    I am Gökhan. I grew up in Pergamon. After I graduated in Industrial Design from Istanbul Technical University, I worked for over 6 years as a design specialist on various projects such as the aerospace, automotive, medical and packaging industries. I took a gap year volunteering in Poland for ecology. I travelled a lot during the volunteering period which enabled me to discover many cultures and people. After I come back to my hometown, I started to work for an international NGO as a project coordinator. We are a locally-based international association that cares about production, development and sharing, and seeks to produce social good in its activities with 150 local volunteers. You may have the opportunity to be involved in this.
    I established my own initiative, a permaculture project for a sustainable lifestyle. We hosted a couple for 6 months under the European Solidarity Corps project last year in NGO based in the town. The organization conducted workshops such as yoga, wild herb foraging, organic farming and cooking in the permaculture field.
    Also, I work for a local cooperative that supports women employability and preserves the cultural heritage of traditional handmade rug and carpet weaving. It could be great to support our women cooperative through internationalization internationalization, digital promotion, storytelling of local handicrafts. Especially, cultural exchange, art enshusiats and alternative lifestyle seekers will feel embrassed during their stay.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Bergama has a UNESCO World Heritage Site that impresses many visitors with its multicultural layered landscape. Travellers can explore ancient sites of Pergamon, Akropolis, Asklepion, and Bazalika if they are interested in history. Nature offers stunning views around pine forests and delicious local dishes from local producers. You can support our well educated and trustworthy volunteers' activities in our organization. You also have a chance to interact with them in person during your stay.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a wooden house over a 9-acre farm area surrounded by olive and fruit trees. I expect workawayers to help with organic farming, cooking or building DIY activities on the farm. We have guests during the high season from caravan and camping that I welcome people or groups. You can work at the women cooperative for design, digital marketing, photoshooting and content creation. that we produce handmade rugs an carpets. The workawayers can wish to work on one or more topics.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a wooden cabin that has 2 rooms, toilet, bathroom and kitchen inside. when there is no guest, it is available for workawayers. We have a tent and hammock for up to 8 people at the same time. We have a proper flat where we have for women cooperative studies .There is enough area for parking cars, motorbikes, caravans and bikes on the field.

    Traditional oven, fireplace and picnic table can be used. We have a windmill to supply groundwater that is drinkable. Solar panel system provides electricity for lighting, fridge and charging electronic devices. We have a Wifi connection in the area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am a nature enthusiast who prefers to live in an easy and ecological way. My land is close to the old town where you can find cafes, bistro and local restaurants. We can go biking or hiking through villages around us. From İstanbul there are city busses (7 hours) to Pergamon. Also, you can come from İzmir airport then IZBAN Train and Shuttle to Pergamon ( 2,5 hours).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    That's great to have digital nomads that we have available wifi connection on the farm and office.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have enough space in our 9 acre farm for Campervans or motorhomes.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We accept pets that can no harm princible.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 484641458595