Help with cooking, gardening and share your skills with our family in Rockville, Utah, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 274 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi. We are a multi—racial family (Asian, Euro-American and Native American) of five living in Rockville, Utah, which is a quiet, peaceful and non-commercial town of 300 people near the entrance to one of our greatest USA parks, Zion National Park! Our family owns and runs a small Asian cafe in Springdale nearby, and we specialize in organic, homegrown, homemade and natural cuisine. Dennis is a retired Acupuncturist, and when he is not involved with the paper side of the restaurant, he keeps busy with fathering their two children, directing multiple building and agricultural projects, creatively writing both non-fiction stories and songwriting, playing music and hiking. Tung is the executive chef of the restaurant and its manager, and has an amazing ability to effortlessly cook any cuisine she tries. In her free time she loves traveling, dining, shopping and a bit of Blackjack. Our children are very involved in art, graphic art, music, nature, cooking, and martial arts. Kia, Tung’s mother is from Cambodia originally, but she speaks Vietnamese mostly and very little English. She works as a prep chef in the restaurant.

    Our quiet, lovely home is made from adobe bricks manufactured on our property on 1 1/2 acres (about .75 hectare), which are mostly irrigated for our organic, 250 m sq garden, our lawns and our 40+ trees which include Apricots, Peach, Apple, Pear, Persimmon, Walnut, Pecan and Pistachio, as well as various native trees and exotic ornamentals. Views of the Park and surrounding national lands surround and the Virgin River flows by 100m away. Our nearest neighbors include 30 ducks in a pond, chickens on two sides, goats, and rabbits not to mention wildlife such as Raccoons, Skunks, Ring-tailed Cats, Fox, Coyotes, Great Blue Herons, Canada Geese, Ravens, Turkey Vultures and our favorite, the Black Capped Chickadee. We are currently building an outside kitchen which will give us a great vantage of a massive face of one of the Park’s beautiful red sandstone mountains to the North.

    We are a smoke and drug free home although we do enjoy modest amounts of beer, wine and coffee, and tend towards quietude so we would not be very interesting for party animals. We also tend towards whole and natural foods and cooking with minimal amounts of meat consumption. Basically we are Flexitarians…

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Tung can teach a bit of Asian cooking techniques, and has a unique perspective from a SE Asian Buddhist background. Dennis has quite a bit of experience in natural healing, Herbology, and Eastern Philosophy, horticulture, local plant identification and Natural History, and Nature Photography, as well as much knowledge of the local area and the great American Southwest travel and recreational possibilities. The family as a whole have extensive travel experiences both here and abroad.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening is always necessary and may include tilling, weeding, tree pruning, harvesting and planting. Natural food cooking is always needed. Art projects may include framing, art creation, sewing, etc. We are planning on building a green house, an apartment and are just beginning an outside kitchen in the near future so any basic construction skills may come in handy. House work always. And general maintenance, especially beautification of the outside areas, is always welcome, like adding mud surfaces to the outside adobe walls. And computer skills are one of our inferiorities. Music and voice lessons? Japanese tutoring?

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Vietnamese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    An outbuilding (mother-in-law) room is available.
    Food, again is mostly natural in orientation and we occasionally eat out at the restaurant. Dennis goes shopping twice weekly in St. George (the nearest big town).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Workawayers can enjoy the great natural surrounding in the form of hiking, biking or climbing, swimming and so on. There is also many restaurants, galleries and a couple of coffee shops as well as a bank, post office and a public library in Springdale a couple of miles away. The latter often has musical events or lectures and the Park also has nightly programs in season. We have a truck that may be used on occasion as well as an electric bike.

    We prefer a quiet space with a hint of tranquility, and would expect a similar orientation on a Workawayer's part. One of the reasons we are here is because of the high potential for serenity inherent here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 482894634555