Get away from the bustle of modern life and help with our dogs in Östavall , Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Jessica and Rory, a Belgian-Irish couple in our early 40's. After travelling for years (often as Workawayers) we found home in the heartlands of Sweden (since 2018), population density 3p/km2. Our small farm (14ha) is surrounded by forest and located on a 4km long peninsula in one of the biggest lakes of the area. The main house and cottages all have stunning views of the meadow. Here you come to enjoy simple nature at a relaxed pace, drink the purest water and fill your lungs with clean air.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    When Rory is not studying or Jes has a day-off we love to show you the good spots. We both love nature and Rory is very much into bushcraft, so if that's your thing, you'll love it here.
    There is a ton of material and loads of space on the farm. So if you have any ideas for a new project, shoot!

  • Help

    Help

    This summer Jessica will be running a busy summer cafe and B&B some 20km away from the farm. Rory is fulltime studying (mostly at home, but he often needs to travel 250 km to the school and back). Our main worry is our dogs Ben and Louie. They are very social and active and it would break our heart to have them sitting in the dog house all day long. We are looking for people who love (big) dogs and have experience. Your main task would be taking them on walks, feed them, cuddle them, keep an eye on them. Depending on your skills and likes, you can do other jobs like gardening (we have a vegetable and strawberry garden constantly loosing the weed battle), painting, fixing things, feeding the chickens, picking berries... There is always tons of stuff to do on a farm!
    We are flexible about the workload. Maybe you want to have a lot of freetime and you only want to take care of the dogs. That's fine. We'll give you the accomodation and you buy your own food.
    If you wanna do more work, great! Then we'll throw in meals. I hope you don't mind cooking, as Jessica will be working late at the cafe a lot of the time. Rory cooks a great omelette, but you might like some more variety. He will be delighted if you invite him for dinner. He's always hungry.
    We have a simple diet. We eat porridge. We bake sourdough bread. We eat lots of eggs (from our own chickens) and potatoes (from our land) and vegetables (not always from our own land as the season is short). We eat meat maybe twice a week, preferrably from our own chickens or beef / lamb from the area if we can get it. We don't buy fancy ingredients. We don't buy organic. We would like to, but we live on a tight budget. We would like you to eat like we do (meaning: in the same price range). If you are attached to eating certain expensive foods, we would like you to pay for those yourself.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have you own cosy cottage with water, electricity, toilet, shower,...
    Wifi is in / near the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you have your own transport, you have more freedom to discover the wider area. We only have one car and will be needing it most of the time. If you don't mind spending your freetime at the farm, in the forests or on the lake, then you can get here public transport. We can pick you up at the train station in Ånge.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    In the main house there is internet connection. We can make a private place for you to work. The guest cottage has no internet.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 482761669675