Help us to maintain our garden and explore central Brittany, France

Country

France

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I are in our early 70's and are retired. Due to ill health my husband is now finding it difficult to manage our medium sized garden and the maintenance of our large house. Our son, his wife and our 4 grandchildren and 3 great-grandchildren live about 25mins. away from us. We live about 1k outside of Rostrenen, a medium sized town in central Brittany (we are on the borders of 3 departments). The town has all necessary amenities with good restaurants, small shops, a weekly street market, bars and 3 large supermarkets just outside of the town.
    Brittany is a very beautiful area of France with it's own unique Breton language, costume, music and dance. The Breton people are the most friendliest and welcoming people in France. Brittany is very rural, with wide open spaces, rolling hills and very little traffic. It has 3 spectacular coastlines with long virtually empty, sandy beaches as well as some rugged, rocky coastlines with many islands.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful part of central Brittany. We have beautiful walks, lakes, chateau's (Tronjoli, Pontivy and Treverez are not too far from us) and the rocky coastlines (the famous "Pink Granite" coast) and miles of sandy beaches are all within an hour's drive from us. The Nantes/ Brest canal is just down the road and has an interesting history and the Lac Guerledan, the largest lake in Brittany, is 20mins. away. This lake has a flooded village underneath it. Our town has a weekly street market and there is a weekly, Sunday morning, artisans market in the beautiful location of the Abbé de Bon Repos. There are a lot of different types of food festivals held locally and they celebrate things like the famous Breton crepes. Brittany is steeped in Celtic folklore and there are lots of places where this is very evident. The unique Vallee of the Saints has over 100 carved statues dotted on a hillside. At Huelgoat you can clamber over and under huge boulders and you can even try to move the Roc Tremblent. The Breton language is taught in schools in an effort to preserve the unique culture. Music and dance are celebrated here at local Fest Noz and Fest Diaz throughout the year and there is a very large annual, 4 day festival of music in August. The Bretons also have a beautiful, traditional costume which is worn on special occasions and every town/village has it's own, unique coiffe ( the hats that the ladies wear).

  • Help

    Help

    My husband is struggling to manage our medium sized garden. A lot of physical help is needed to whip it into shape. Trees need pruning, plants need dividing, a pond needs to be re-lined, a vegetable plot needs creating and general maintenance is required. We have a large house which also needs a thorough spring clean and some maintenance and due to arthritis I am struggling just to keep on top of general cleaning. There are some small maintenance jobs that also need sorting out, eg re-instating plasterboard that was removed, laying click flooring in the hallway, sorting, tidying and the removal of rubbish in our basement.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a single bedroom with hanging wardrobe, chest of drawers, bedside cabinet, armchair and a small TV with integral DVD player. Along the hallway you would have sole use of a shower and toilet.
    If a couple wished to come together we have a double sofa bed upstairs and a hanging wardrobe. This room also has it's own toilet and sink. The shower and another toilet are downstairs.
    If anyone wished to have an extended stay there is a completely separate apartment downstairs in the basement. This has a fully fitted kitchen/diner, a lounge, a bedroom with an en suite shower room/toilet/sink and a utility room with washing machine, toilet and hand basin.
    We have English TV and Wifi.
    We only eat home cooked food. Breakfast is usually cereal/toast/eggs. Lunch is usually baguette, pate, cheeses. and we have our evening meal around 6-7pm. I cook from scratch and we enjoy homemade chilli, bolognaise, lasagne, curries, Chinese meals, as well as traditional cottage pie, stews and Sunday roasts.
    We mostly eat chicken, 5% minced beef, lean pork, fish and seafood.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are about 1k outside of the local town of Rostrenen. It has a good range of shops, restaurants and bars. From the town there is a bus service to the much larger town of St. Brueic. There is an all day, weekly street market every Tuesday where anything from clothes to street food, live chickens to haberdashery can be bought.
    There are two swimming pools 20 mins. away, east or west of us and if you fancy climbing through the trees, then there is an adventure park, with zip wires, also 20 mins. away. My husband is a qualified carpenter and is willing to teach his trade. I am a retired nurse and adult teacher and I enjoy lots of different crafts. I go to 2 fortnightly sewing groups and do patchwork and quilting. I make bags, purses and other small gifts. I also do stained glass, copper foiling and have a separate craft/office room.
    Every other Monday I go to my sewing group. Every Tuesday I meet with friends for a weekly weigh-in, every Thursday I take a lady shopping and do our weekly shop as well. Every other Friday afternoon I go to a different sewing group. I also take another friend out occasionally, (she cannot drive), and we visit different places for a coffee and natter. My husband reads a lot and occasionally visits the local bar. We have two cars so transport is no problem. We also play Canasta some evenings, with a couple of friends on a regular basis. The rest of our time is spent with our son, his wife and their family, who live about 30mins. away. We have 4 grandchildren here in France and 3 great grandchildren. Our grandchildren are all completely bi-lingual and keep us busy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 482316476453