life in the campo: family looking for help with Kids and land, Spain

  • Favourited 261 times
  • Last activity: 11 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are an English Family living close to the National Doñana Park.

    We are a young family from the hills of Derbyshire, who moved to seek the sunny outdoor life. We built an eco home in the UK, but we wanted to slow down and chill out a little, where we could grow all our own veggies and be off grid.

    We sold up and travelled around ourselves in our land rover defender Jeffery(*️️️️️️️kids call him "Vancar") we started to look for a base where we could create something that could eventually bring in some income a rental room. We want to be more competent with natural medicines and grow our own herbs and veggies to be as self sufficient as possible. Not just for the benefit of ourselves and our kids but for the planet. We were vegans for 6 years, but are feeling our bodies and lifestyle suits being more flexible (so sometime the kids have organic meat or wild fish, eggs and cheese). We happily accommodate those with any type of diet. Your Body, your choice ;). In March we found "home" between Seville and the Coast, right on the border of the national park. We have alot of work to do on the garden to get ourselves to be self sustainable, so we still need to work hard some days and we relaaaax some other days too .. well as much as you can with little ones.

    I am an electrician by trade, i have built 3 of my own homes before and the last 8 years built up my own sustainable energy company. I can't wait to get in growing food at home along with medicinal herbs in our garden.

    Lid "Liddy"/ "Mimi/Mama" (*️️️️️️️️️️️️️ my partner in crime) was a (before we met )yachtie (sailing teacher/and first mate) and she had her own business being a wedding filmographer before we started our family. We were climbers when we met but haven't had the time recently. She's my soulmate, she's love all the wonders of nature and science, art, ancient civilisations, mythology, astrology, astronomy...., animals, nature, walking and cooking, also never afraid to get her hands dirty and pick up tools with a baby strapped to her back👌💕We both love to learn and always interested in listening to people's stories and sharing skills.

    We love being outside with nature together, learning about natural remedies. We have a lot to learn about permaculture , and our native plants but we are always open to learn this knowledge with anyone who can help and share these skills with us. We both have big hearts and have already adopted three dogs already in the short time we have lived here. Our kids are also organically grown like our veggies, we have a little boy 8 (obsessed with hoovers, his quad, tools, science, how things work and anything with a switch, so no matter your knowledge, expect to be asked alot of questions). We have a little girl 5 ( she will be found zipping round on her bike, dancing flamenco, singing "spanlish" songs, she loves animals and her brothers).... and a 3 year old boy (bit of an adreline junkie,animal lover, usually found digging a hole in the nude). So we are always busy and there is ALWAYS chores and project hence why we could do with the extra hands at the moment.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Situated beside the scenic protected nature reserve of Doñana.
    Our home to over 9 acres, 10 orange trees, olive trees, 5 lemons trees, cherry trees, pomegranate trees, fig trees, carobs trees, grapefruit trees, lime tree, walnut tree, avocado tree, pomegranate tree, lavender,rosemary trees and lots more .

    30 minutes drive – Get sun kissed and dip yourself into the ocean at what the locals call “The Coast of the Light” or Matalscañas. Watch the towering sand dunes shift in a dazzling dance, and stroll along the 120 km of pristine, sandy beaches. Bring a tent for an overnight camp and watch the wild deer take their night baths in the moonlight. LITERALLY our church we try to go every sunday without fail, cold or hot sea. cleanse and refresh

    Seville Buses go every 1 hour to and from Villamanrique, a small, charming village just 30 mins walk minutes away. Here, you can also get straight buses to Sevilla or the beach!!!

    45-minutes drive – Sevilla, the Spanish heart of arts, gothic architecture, and culture. Go tapas bar-hopping, explore magnificent plazas, discover the ancient churches, take an evening stroll along the Guadalquivir river, then cosy yourself into a truly authentic flamenco pub and dance your soul out until sunrise. The architecture is unbelievably stunning.

    15 minutes drive – away is El Rocio, the mecca of everything flamenco. No paved roads, only horse carriages, welcome to the Wild Wild West. Be sure to catch the annual Romeria in end of May that goes pass our house, a 2-week giant spectacle which gathers over 1,200,000 pilgrims to dance, sing, and eat, all to honour the Goddess of life.

    Step into the World Heritage site of Doñana National Park and find yourself immersed in the astonishing wildlife of Southern Europe. Try to spot the illusive Iberian lynx and catch a glimpse of the splendid flamingos flying across the horizon, as you explore the park’s marshes, forests, beaches, and lagoons. We regularly have animal visitors if you can catch a glimspe before the dogs spook them


    1 hour 10 mins to Portugal Beaches

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking workawayer/s. Must have an understanding English. We have spanish helpers,workmen etc that are locals that you somettimes spend you time with so if you want to improve your spanish, if not google translate and hand gestures work too 😅

    Me and Lyd work from home for a solar company, so we have alot of knowledge on renewale energy iffou want to learn more..

    We are very hardworking, and ideally we need like minded, energetic, healthy & fit, friendly, happy to help with chores without supervision

    That have initiative and can work on task without too much guidance. We want someone who can help with activities with the kids.
    We need help inside the home with general tasks around the house.
    And with "campolife" we have lots of manual tasks on the land, no fear of power tools or getting messy!!

    Once the working day is over we love to show our workawayers the local beaches and areas if they want to,, and love sharing big family meals together... or just chill in the pool

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    kids and I are good at spanish, Lyd can navigate spanish convos! always happy to learn and help other improve on their English if needed.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    IDEALLY people own caravans/ campers. we can hook up with free electric and our fresh borehole water.
    we have an open air bathroom with cold shower, sink and toilet.

    Meals will be provided for the days you work. We do have a small room with a sink. we will have to renovated one day,its very basic at the moment We are a good 30 minute walk from the centre of the village if you have no form of transport

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    willing to work, good manners and all good vibes xx

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have 10 arces, lots of space to relax in solitude Space to park up, access to water, electricity, wifi, and outside shower and toilet

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    the pets MUST be children and animal friendly and be ok with other animals as we have 2 mastines dogs and a sharpei.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 481792996513

Feedback (2)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)