Live and help with a fishing family near Homer, Alaska, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 74 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    335

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a tiny "suburban homestead" or "small house with a big garden" on the edge of Homer. We are also commercial fishermen so our life is very seasonal. There is always some kind project to do, whether it is mowing the lawn, gardening, making a meal or doing the dishes afterward. During June and July we are salmon fishing(sorry I won't be able to respond to your messages from the boat) If I don't respond right away it is because sometimes I neglect the computer or we may be out fishing, hunting or out somewhere off grid. 

    In August we are done fishing and just working on house and garden projects, putting food away for winter storage and having some fun summer adventures and resting after long and exhausting fishing season.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about our seasonal fishing lifestyle and get to know Homer and Dillingham and the life of an Alaskan fishing family. We live and work in such an amazing place. Come share it with us!

  • Help

    Help

    We love help with food prep and cleanup. Our visitors must be experienced with and enjoy children because ours are a big presence in our household. If you like to garden there are always things to plant, harvest and weeds to pull and if you want to learn a little about fishing you are welcome to check out the nets and boats if it’s in season. We will be in Homer until late May then we plan to go to Dillingham where we keep our boats. If you are fitting in well with our family, we would be happy to bring you with us to see what life in a small fishing town is like. In Dillingham we camp out in the boatyard and work on the boats and the kids help or play and ride bikes. Our ideal helper is great with children, excited to learn new things, clean and tidy but not afraid to get dirty, and willing to jump in and help out. We would also love it if you share another language especially Spanish.

    Do you love music? We are learning ukulele and violin. Our mushing isn’t very pretty yet but we have fun making it.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish and some Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In Homer we have a workshop with a bunk where you can have some personal space. If it's still chilly out there in May we have a cozy couch in the living room. In August it’s very nice out there. Our house isn't very big but we are happy to share it. The kitchen and bathroom are shared. In Dillingham we stay on our boats and in a shipping container that is outfitted with bunks and a modest camp kitchen. It's pretty rustic. There are showers available in the office but no internet. You can get internet at the library.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Homer is a good jumping off spot for all kinds of fun. I have a couple of bikes you are welcome to ride and we go to town often and we are happy to give rides when possible. If we get to know and trust you we may have a car available to drive sometimes. Dillingham is an amazing little (off the road system) community that is bustling with activity revolving around the salmon harvest.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 479819698325