We want to change our garden over to a permaculture garden growing all our own vegetables! Kwazulu Natal, Africa

Country

South Africa

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I live in a coastal town on the east coast of South Africa just south of the city of Durban. Our little town is named Umkomaas. We have a half acre property and we are about 500m from the beach. We want to change our garden over to a permaculture garden growing all our own vegetables. We need help with the garden to make it over to permaculture. We also have 12 dogs who are all rescue dogs but they are now our own so any prospective Workawayer would need to like dogs very much.
    Umkomaas is a well known dive spot as the Aliwal Shoal is near out coastline. The town of Scottburgh is only 10 kms away and has a very nice beach with all amenities.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a multi-cultural society now in South Africa so there will be opportunities to mix with people of other race groups. In particular we are very involved with an Indian family who have a disabled daughter and the Workawayer could spend time with this family getting to know them and learning of their experiences. We are ordinary South African people but have friends of other race groups.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love to have someone with a knowledge of permaculture but it is not absolutely necessary as we have a lot of information on hand. The work in the garden would entail making new vegetable patches, and fencing them off because of the dogs running around. Maintaining the garden and planting seeds and seedlings will be part of the work.

    We also need workawayers to help with doing art, reading and other interesting things with the disabled girl that we are helping.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a rustic cabin in our garden not far from the house which sleeps two people in bunk beds. It has one room and a bathroom with basin, toilet and shower. It has a refrigerator and a TV and dvd player. We would provide cereals and fruit for breakfast to be taken in the cabin and then lunch and supper will be with us in the house or eating next to the pool. The swimming pool is between the cabin and the house and because of our very nice climate it is even possible to swim during the winter.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the time off, we have the beach 500m from the house. Umkomaas is a famous dive spot and diving can be arranged where divers are taken out to the Aliwal Shoal for dives. Crocworld is 5 kms away which has Nile crocodiles and other wildlife. Scottburgh town is 10 kms away and has a lovely beach with restaurant and very safe bathing. There are shops and restaurants in the town. Scottburgh is a popular surfing beach. In July our part of the coast has the annual Sardine Run where shoals of sardines travel up the coast followed by sea birds and game fish. It is quite a spectacle especially when the sardines beach. Unfortunately transport is not very reliable so the workawayer would have to rely on us to drop off and pick up.
    We are a Christian family and would prefer not to have any alcohol consumed on our property. We also would not like a Workawayer to smoke inside the cabin.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 478881934832