Help on our small hobby farm in Western Massachusetts, Warwick, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 210 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a 4 acre farm in Western Massachusetts approx one and a half hours from Boston. We are in the middle of a village on the edge of a State Forest and we are establishing a small vegetable garden as well as raising pigs and chickens for our own meat and eggs. Our next project will be building a wood fired pizza oven so we'd welcome volunteers with some carpentry or building knowledge as well. We are surrounded by woods and nature with regular sightings of many species. We love to hold parties for friends. Turid is fresh from Scotland where she ran a horse farm for 15 years, she also speaks fluent french. John is a real American and writes comic books.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are experienced Workawayers ourselves. We have done Workaways in many countries and have enjoyed every one of the opportunities.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, farming, feeding animals, mending fences, chopping wood and kindling, driving, painting, maintenance.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I speak french and would love to improve my italian or start fresh with Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    bedroom or cool hang out space in barn

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Fabulous hiking and foraging possible right on site. Live music, festivals and concerts as well as great farmers markets and strong community spirit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We require Help with internet bills if you’re using it for work.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    we have a huge rabbit, flock of chickens and cat that have free access to the whole area. Pets must be steady and well behaved. There is a possibility of grazing for a horse for a short while.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 478872789433