Help with an organic vegetable garden and around the house near Osnabrück, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 196 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    41  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello
    We are a friendly German/English family living in the north-west of Germany. Living at home are my husband and myself plus one or more of our grown-up children (aged 23-27 ). There may also be exchange students, visiting travellers, etc.
    We are in the process of starting a (biggish) organic vegetable garden and would also like some help around the house and with our dogs and chickens. There are no young children, so no baby-sitting :-)
    We are vegan and although we are happy to accept anybody we don't want meat in the house. (Dairy is okay.)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We often have people from different countries staying with us and love to hear about different cultures.
    We are all fluent in English and German with some of us speaking a bit of French or Spanish.
    You will hopefully learn how to create a thriving, awesome organic vegetable garden .... or alternatively how to cope when the hares and deer destroy all our efforts...

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment we mainly need help with maintaining the vegetable garden we started in spring 2017, working on our pond and little jobs around the house.
    The dogs want to be walked and we're always happy to get help with housework, especially vegan cooking. We don't need people to be ridiculously skilled at things, just being willing to help will be cool.

    Update autumn 2018:
    This winter we are hoping to start various new projects. We are planning to knock down a wall, rip down a ceiling, install a kitchen stove, dig a boat into the ground, fell some trees, put up a yoga platform... and still cook delicious vegan meals, play games, watch movies and have discussions at the dinner table.
    Help would be most welcome :-)

    Update spring 2019:
    Some of the projects mentioned above are still ongoing. At the end of last year we also adopted two more rescue dogs, so now we have four dogs! This means we need help with walking them twice a day, at 7 am and 4-5 pm, so you should be happy to help with that on your working days. As the weather warms up there will also be more work in the garden again.
    Please also note that because of the dogs we are unable to accept children under the age of 10.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single or shared rooms in the house, depending on how many other people are around.
    You will eat with us, we will provide 3 vegan meals a day.
    No smoking in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live on the outskirts of a small village with little public transport, but you can borrow our bikes to visit nearby nature reserves or cycle to the station where you can catch the train to Osnabrück (15 min), Bremen (1 h), Hamburg ( 2 hrs), or Amsterdam (3 hrs). Depending on our working hours we are also happy to give you lifts.
    Other things we think we should mention:
    Our dogs are very friendly but big and hairy. They live with us in the house. Expect to wade through dog hair during moulting times :-)
    We have a sense of humour and don't take ourselves too seriously.
    You won't be expected to work outside in shitty weather.
    Times are likely to be flexible, but no more than five hours per day, five days per week max.
    There are usually young people around. We enjoy games, discussions, trips to the cinema, watching movies, bouldering, etc. We also have various instruments (pianos, guitars, saxophones, flute, accordeon, broken violin,...) which nobody can play particularly well, but we'd love to hear you play them.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Having breakfast outside with a few workawayers
The beginnings of a herb garden
Future organic vegetable paradise ;)
Volunteer accomodation

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



























Host ref number: 476926571925