Help needed on a smallholding in the beautiful countryside of the Segala region, France

Country

France

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/03/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi.

    We live in an old farmhouse in the beautiful countryside of the Segala region. The area and the views are stunning.

    We have decided to live the dream and embrace the permaculture ethic, so far as it is reasonable and practical. That is to say we try to live in balance with our surroundings. We cut down trees to use, and then we plant other trees. There is a time to plant, and a time to harvest. Our footprint is as small as we can make it. but we are not invisible. Just by being here we make a difference, we just want that difference to be a good difference. We think about our place here.
    But we also live, love and laugh. We are happy.

    We have an orchard and an allotment and 2 further acres of land with various trees and bushes. The farm buildings include barns, a bread oven, a courtyard, wells etc.

    Apart from the abundance of wildlife, there is also a very friendly dog and some chickens.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Help

    Help

    The work is divided into three categories:

    1: Essential stuff.

    2: Stuff that needs to be done after the essential stuff is done. Although what is essential tends to be fluid.

    3: Would really like to do, but only after 1 and 2 have been done. This is where you come in! This covers digging, weeding, shifting rocks, building, strimming and general garden and building maintenance, digging a wildlife pond, uncovering and restoring a cobble courtyard, chopping and stacking wood, lime pointing. And other stuff. Lots of other stuff! Oh yes!

    There is a wide choice of things to do, so if you get bored or tired of one thing then pick another. We're cool.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a lovely guest room with beautiful views. We have other rooms that at the moment are a work in progress. We also have a guest suite comprising bedroom, bathroom and library which is effectively self contained.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you like peace and quiet and the natural world this is the place to come. We have hoopoes, lizards, owls, bats, stag beetles, loads of birds of prey, woodpeckers, dormice, nightingales, etc etc.

    If you're looking for night life, it's mainly bats and owls. Although this is a very social area, with plenty of things going on in the surrounding villages and towns.

    And, Albi a very busy, cosmopolitan World Heritage City is only 30 minutes away.

    We are aspirational pragmatists who are working towards being as self-sufficient as is reasonable, whilst being as organic as possible. Our backgrounds are in health, as a nurse and alternative health research , and our interests are many and varied. We can talk about pretty much anything from the psychology of belief to politics and religion, health and world affairs. We can listen to almost anything, but football, popular culture and The Eurovision Song Contest may see us glaze over.

    Cooking is usually good, and can be experimental! (But in a good way). Please feel free to join in in the kitchen. We can cater for vegetarian diets, but possibly not vegan.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 a day is quite enough thank you.


Host ref number: 472388383134