Come help us on our regenerative permaculture farmstead in Lesja, Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 237 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    * * * As the farm work slows down considerably after September, we are open only to workawayers from October onwards with building experience that can offer somewhat skilled help with building a mobile chicken coop. Thanks and we look forward to hearing from you! :) * * *



    We're a family of 4 living on our farmstead in the upper end of the rural valley of Gudbrandsdalen. We are a Norwegian/American couple, Torgeir & Uni, with two boys, Kai & Ørjan, ages 14 and 1. Kai lives mostly in California with his father now but is here with us during summers and winter holidays. Torgeir's parents also live on the land.

    This is our second year here on the farm, where we are committed to setting deep roots, creating a home and livelihood where our family can thrive. We are focused on growing as much of our own food as possible utilizing regenerative agriculture, holistic management, and permaculture principles, inspired largely by Allan Savory, Joel Salatin, and Richard Perkins, just to name a few...

    As of now, we have 35 fully pastured grass-fed sheep & lambs, 50 pastured chickens, and a decent size kitchen garden where we try to grow as much of our vegetables as possible. We are in the midst of developing our businesses with pastured eggs and herbal body care.

    Beyond what we grow and raise ourselves, we try to forage, fish, and gather in the wild as much as possible. We still buy a large percentage of our food but our hope is to reduce that to a minimum as best we can.
    We are attempting to rewild our bodies, minds, and lives to get closer to our original human capacities, striving to live in tune with nature, while engaging in intimate relationship with the land.

    Our daily lives revolve around:
    -being present for our kids
    -developing our pastured egg business
    -raising animals
    -growing, foraging, and preserving food
    -time in nature
    -developing and honing traditional ancestral skills (i.e. hide tanning, wool fiber arts, fire making, tracking, bird language, nature awareness, etc.)
    -connecting and sharing through open communication, laughter, play!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying with us, you will experience conscious family life in a continuum concept/respectful parenting style, healthy nutrient dense food, simple farm life producing our own food, procuring wild foods, and a nature based lifestyle.

    Other learning opportunities:

    Archery
    MovNat (natural human movement)
    Holistic Management
    Regenerative Agriculture
    Permaculture
    Nature awareness
    Herbalism
    Acupuncture and Chinese medicine
    Bodywork/massage
    Old Norse culture and spirituality

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the help we need revolves around caring for the animals, gardening, and chores that support family life running smoothly with a small child. We expect volunteers to help with cooking and cleaning up after meals as you would in your own household. This is not considered volunteer work. :)

    Depending on the season and priority of work needed to be done, we sometimes also want help with projects such as:
    Harvesting and preserving wild foods & herbs
    Building
    Butchering
    Fermenting veggies from the garden
    Fishing
    Hide tanning
    Working with wool, shearing, carding, spinning, felting


    If you have any special skills, interests or passions, we are always eager for learning exchange so let us know what you might want to share with us! We are open to any skills but especially interested in rewilding, ancestral skills, nature awareness, wild foods, movement arts such as dance & martial arts, archery, and natural crafts such as woodcarving, basketweaving, primitive pottery, wool felting/spinning/knitting, and other useful traditional skills! Also, we would love to learn more songs and stories from other traditions!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    Korean: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation:
    You will be staying in a cozy cabin with a wood-fired stove. You may be sharing the cabin if we have another workawayer staying here at the time. There is a large bedroom with a bunk bed. A corner of the kitchen/dining/living room space is set up as a 'bedroom' with a bed there. There is a storage closet for keeping belongings in and another for storing food. There is running cold water that can be warmed on the stove and a basic kitchen with an electric oven, fridge, and basic kitchen utensils & cookware for simple cooking. You have your own outdoor toilet, and access to a hot shower in the barn. In the summer, we like to wash ourselves by swimming in the lake or river. Highly recommended! :)

    Food:
    Breakfast and some dinners you prepare yourself in your cabin with ingredients we provide. (We find this best allows the space for our family with our little one in the mornings and some busier evenings.) We eat lunches and some dinners together. We provide all you need for three squares per day. If you need snacks or specialty food items, please be prepared to provide that for yourself. Everyone shares responsibilities with food prep and clean up.

    We eat organic and nourishing nutrient dense food à la Weston A. Price. This means that we properly prepare our grains, legumes, nuts & seeds by soaking in an acidic medium to neutralize phytic acid and enzyme inhibitors. We honor our animals that become our food by using all the parts from nose to tail. Please be okay with being around food preparation involving organs, bones, blood, etc. We have an abundance of vegetables from our garden in the summer and autumn, and are working toward growing more root vegetables and potatoes to store in our cellar for the long winter.


    Please:
    -No smoking, drugs, or alcohol. There is a certain energy these substances bring that we don't want to have around us and our kids.
    -No synthetic fragrances or chemical bug repellants, chemical sunscreens, etc. We are sensitive to these products and get headaches from being around them. (Please note that even if you are not dousing yourself with perfume or cologne, most laundry detergents, lotions, hair products, deodorants, etc. contain fragrances and other chemicals that affect those of us with sensitivities.)
    -Have good proficiency in English or Norwegian so we can communicate easily with each other.
    -Be okay with not having your phone on you at all times so you can be present with the people you are with.
    -Be okay with independent work and solo time. We will be working together sometimes but not always as we need to prioritize being present for our little guy as well as getting other things done that also need doing. :)


    What to bring:
    Solid work clothes and shoes. Our farm is on a high altitude, so spring, autumn and winter are cold. You need to bring warm clothes if you are staying with us at that time. Some summer days can be chilly too so be prepared with at least a few warm items of clothing. The sun can be strong in the summer so a sun hat and sun protective long sleeved clothing (in light airy cotton/linen/hemp for example) can be wise to have.


    Internet:
    We have wifi in Torgeir's parents' house, which you will be able to use as needed.

    We try to have a conscious relationship with media and digital devices, especially around our kids. We ask that you mostly leave your phone or device in your cabin during the day or if you must keep it on you, please have it turned off or on airplane mode.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transport:

    Taking the train to 'Lesjaverk' station, about 10 minutes away from us, is the most convenient way to get here. We can easily pick you up from there!
    'Dombås' station is about 30 minutes away and we can pick you up there on days that the train doesn't travel further to Lesjaverk. From Oslo, the train ride is approximately 3.5 - 4 hours.


    We have forest and mountains all around us, with tons of opportunities for hiking and recreation. Our lake and river are wonderful for swimming, fishing, canoeing just 5 minutes walk into our backyard forest.


    If it is clear you have not read the profile in full, we may not respond to your request. Please type 'glowing ember' in the subject line to let us know you have read the profile in entirety and we will prioritize responding to you first. Also, tell us a bit about yourself, your skillset, what you are looking for in your workaway experience, and why you think we would be a good fit.

    We look forward to hearing from you! Bless! :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5-6 hours a day, 5 days a week

Building a windbreak for the garden
Fermentation station
Fresh salad from the garden
Calendula beauty to be made into healing salve
Sheep therapy
Icelandic flock
Wild porcini mushrooms (Steinsopp på norsk)
Mesmerizing autumn colors
Autumn abundance
Biochar being made
Sheepskin tanning
Holistic management planned grazing
Flock of Brown Lohman laying hens
Zone 1 garden in the early part of the season
Red clover drying to become part of a women's tea blend

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)













Host ref number: 468333944483