A horse riders dream on a large farm. Waipukurau, New Zealand



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    We live on a 960ha sheep and beef farm, running 5500 sheep and around 1000 cattle.
    I have two horses that I hunt and I would love to have someone who is an experienced rider who can ride over the farm and if we have time go to the beach for rides. Sam and I have three boys aged 20, 18 and 14. The older two over the holidays are working, otherwise at school and uni. The youngest keen on motorbikes and hunting! Our house is a large homestead and we have a tennis court - always keen for more tennis players. We also have a swimming pool which is a must in our warm climate and a spa pool. I travel a bit so it is great to have someone around who can help in the garden and with the odd dinner when I am not here. We try and keep things interesting and it has been great having backpackers who have come back to stay a few times. We are 35 minutes drive from the beach and the Ruahine mountains are the same distance away, a great place for tramping.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be fully immersed in our day to day living which is busy but great fun. Come and see what NZ life on a farm is all about.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Mainly horse riding but must be an experienced rider, some cooking of meals.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a queen sized bed in a bedroom, own bathroom generally, but will share that with our son when home at the weekends.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The beach is 35 minutes away, good surfing and surf casting for fish. Those keen on tramping the ruahine ranges is a wonderful place to go and there are good doc huts to stay in.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 467253182396

Feedback (1)



Join us on our farmstay for some gardening, building renovations in Kawakawa, New Zealand
Come and help out with childcare in a vibrant and diverse area of West Auckland, New Zealand