Help us build our off grid farmstead for our community in the high Arizona Desert, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 30 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Miranda and James. We purchased 80 acres on the Arizona/New Mexico state line, in Portal, Cochise County, Arizona and moved here permanently after Miranda lost her job due to Covid-19. It was the best thing that happened to us as we escaped the chaos of the city and now live in this beautiful place off the beaten track. Miranda was a massage therapist and esthetician and James was a heavy equipment mechanic. Now we're organic farmers!

    We love to share information and teach. James has so much knowledge with mechanics, solar and construction. Miranda has her Permaculture Design Certificate and absolutely loves to share what she knows about permaculture, gardening and living sustainably off-grid, although, we are learning every day!

    Our off grid permaculture farmstead is located in a large valley between two mountain ranges and within an intentional community focused around living in touch with nature and animals. The main mountain range is called the Chiracahua mountains. They are a popular tourist attraction for amateur astronomers (amazing clear skies!) birders, naturalist, entomologists, hikers, splunkers (cave adventurists), and good old fashioned nature lovers. It's a gorgeous mountain range. Its very rural, but if you love nature, this is where its at! We are an hours drive north of Mexico and 2.5 hours drive from Tucson, AZ.

    Our homestead is new so its quite sparse. We are off grid with a solar system, wind turbines and well (excellent water quality). We also have a few sheds for storage and workshop/tool space, a post harvest shed and two large greenhouse with a third almost completed and another to be constructed. We have also started constructing a new 50'x50' outdoor garden. We have a friend who has built a tiny house on the property as well. She has two dogs. We have ordered 16 chickens which will be delivered in May.

    Right now we live in our travel trailer as we build the farm first to insure food security. We are about to start building our hybrid earthship. We are working on our "Oasis", which is an area with a hot tub, outdoor shower and composting toilet, and will include a tiki bar, yoga platform, outdoor kitchen and meditation bench. It will be our relaxation area, because you need that when you work so hard!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you've ever been interested in off grid and community living, this will be a great experience. You will learn construction and building skills as well as how to grow a lot of food in a high desert environment. You will also learn how to take a blank piece of land and turn it into an off grid property and what that entails. If you have ever dreamed of owning your own off grid property, James and Miranda can provide you with the necessary steps on doing so as well as gaining valuable hands on experience if you desire. You will also have a unique experience of visiting an area where birders and naturalists come from all over the world to see such rare natural sights.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with multiple projects.

    *Learn how to build a greenhouse. We need help building our third and fourth 50' greenhouses. James will be managing it and is happy teaching what he knows in regards to construction.
    *We also need help with some gardening, weeding and preparing garden beds in the new kitchen garden.
    *We need help finishing out a small shed to a bedroom.
    * James will be doing the earthworks for the food forest swales but we will need help with planting trees and other plants.
    *Help finishing the Oasis
    *Help preparing food and clean up

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am interested in learning more Italian. I started learning in Italy, but alas, if you don't use it, you lose it.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It's hot (summer) and windy (springtime) our here in the high desert. There's no A/C or enclosed/indoor common area yet. Tent Camping available / Van life/ vehicle camping. Includes use of the enclosed outdoor shower (on demand water heater) with composting toilet. We can provide a 2 person tent, air mattresses and bedding if needed. We will provide 3 healthy meals a day and you are welcome to greenhouse garden snacks :-). We do eat free ranged beef which we purchase from a local rancher. Eggs are also locally sourced until our chickens are old enough to lay eggs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located 1 hours drive from the nearest town (Douglas, AZ on the US./Mexican border) with large grocery store, being Walmart. We do have three small, locally owned stores within a 25 minute drive that has provisions, two of which have a restaurant attached so you can grab pizza and burgers. In fact, one restaurant has small village concerts during the summer and throughout the year. Fun times with the local community! Closest gas station is 25 minutes away.

    Sightseeing would include the Chiracahua mountains for rare bird and wildlife watching, hiking, biking, taking a dip in the seasonal Cave Creek watering holes, waterfalls, crystal caves, camping, and visitors center. This area was home to the famous Native American, Geronimo and the Apaches. Visit Geronimo's last stand. The old western mining town of Bisbee is located an hour and twenty minutes away and is a great trip for some artsy culture. The famous western cowboy town of Tombstone is located just a few miles up the road from Bisbee which is always a blast. There are caverns to visit too and Tucson which is 2.5 hours away has many activities throughout the year.

    There is no public transportation so you will need your own vehicle. Again, we are located in a very rural area so you will have to plan for provisions. It doesn't look like much is going on here from afar, but in fact we have more of a social life with the community here than we did in the city! Who knew?!

    We have accomplished A LOT in short amount of time so as you might assume, we are very busy people. We have multiple projects going on plus working outside jobs. That being said, we always make time for friends and being there for others in our community. While you are staying on the property please make yourself at home. We just ask that you just respect our items and space as we would yours. We are super friendly and won't bite LOL!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We now have Starlink for our internet so we have high speed data.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Any size vehicle is welcome, although we do not have septic or electric hookups. RV's or vans must have their own solar panels or power supply. Water hose hookups are available. Compost toilet and outdoor shower is available.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    As long as they are well behaved.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 465134929412