Looking for digital related skills and knowledge help in Kulai Johor, Malaysia

Country

Malaysia

Favourited 36 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/03/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    363

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a professional registered pharmacist in Malaysia who love to travel around the world just like you. Currently I'm running a homestay and budget hotel in my small hometown Kulai. On the other hand, my husband, Jordan is running a traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) shop with over 70 years history in another small hometown called Pekan Nanas. We love to meet people around the world, sharing stories and cultures.

    We don't live in the homestay and budget hotel. We stay in our home which is 10 minutes away. Yet, i will constantly drop by to meet and interact with my guests and manage the homestay and budget hotel from time to time. You can have your own clean bed in shared dorm, secured your valuable in locker, relax in sharing space and 2nd floor garden. Yes, u can access to our Balinese homestay to enjoy a cup of hand-brewed coffee in the afternoon.

    Nearest attraction is Gunung Pulai, great location for trekking with ice cold waterfall (15 minutes by car), various hawker centre and local market to enjoy the local cuisines, and Johor Premium Outlet (JPO) for some shopping spree. If u need some Vitamin Sea, u can always travel to Pulau Tioman for diving and snorkelling (not forgetting some ice cold cheap beers since it is a duty free zone) My space is located in a small town with international airport and we are just 40KM away from neighbour country Singapore.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As a multi racial country, we speak decent Mandarin, English and Malay. You can learn 3 different languages all at one go. ( sometimes we speak dialect like Hakka, Cantonese or even Hokkien) You can always enjoy local cuisine which we are very proud of, discover the hidden spots with only locals and a cup of hand-brewed coffee in Balinese homestay.

  • Help

    Help

    We seriously need extra hands for digital related skills and knowledge. You don't need muscles but just a brilliant ideas and plan to make things work.

    - Are you good at photography ? We need some good photographs for products
    - Are you good at video editing ? help us to make few highly impact videos
    - Creative artist ? help us for the product packaging design, hotel decorations and probably some mural art
    - IT genius ? We need good tech guys to help us to build website and internet related issue
    - Good marketing skills ? we have several products which need ur help
    -Great cooker ? you are welcome to share your secret recipe with us !

    You don't need to fit into all the criteria. Tell us ur skills, we truly believe that many hands make light work !
    (just make sure you don't mess up the homestay or hotel :)

    Helping hours :
    5 hours per day, 5 days per week.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Malay: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    bunkbed with air-con (u definitely need it in Malaysia), shared bathroom
    Hot water dispenser to enjoy your coffee or tea, small kitchen for some light cooking. (self-catered)
    A bus stop with a stone's throw away distance, easily travel to down town and even Singapore.
    There are plenty of shops around for your everyday needs (banks, pharmacies, groceries, telcos, restaurants) 7-Eleven and a delicious bakery shop 5 minutes away

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off, you can enjoy sight-seeing activities around the town. Since we are only 30km away from the Johor Bahru city centre and 40km from Singapore, you can always take local bus from the bus stop near the hotel. GRAB is another good option as it is relatively comfortable with reasonable charge.

    You can have your own times to explore the city and join us occasionally for meals (my mum cooks yummy local food)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 463422936967