Help me reshape hard-rock ground into a productive garden and wooden decking. Cane Garden Bay, British Virgin Islands


Virgin Islands (British)

Favourited 166 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

  • Description


    Small slice of paradise, we live in a big 4bedroom house in Cane Garden Bay, Tortola, BVI. I am currently renovating the exteriors, and I need help in transforming the hard-rock ground into a productive garden. We have one of the best view of the island, walking distance to the beach of Cane Garden Bay. And our space is huge with a relaxing vibe.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will get to enjoy the beach nearby and relax or explore the island. Lots of diving opportunity as well. Language opportunities as we also are both fluent in French and English.

  • Help


    Currently need help with :
    - Maintaining the current gardens, weeding, tutoring tomatoes, cutting basil, harvest, etc...
    - Digging the ground, sorting and removing rocks, and put soil to expand said gardens ! I am also taking suggestions regarding irrigation or sustainable growth if you have any experience in that.
    - Basic woodwork to upgrade garden beds or build furniture, etc.

    Hoping for 10h/week for bed+food, however stays of only one week. Have an opening second week of April and another one last week of May !

    You are very welcome to share the full equipped kitchen, lounge, other open areas, deck, etc.

    I know this is not a big eco-farm project or similar, just a big house trying to improve the land. We hope you will gain a lot from this and get to the explore the island as well. You may or may not learn much trade or new skills, but you will get to enjoy a nice vacation on your free time. We have a very nice view and are walking distance from Cane Garden Bay beach ! We also know the island very well and you can practice lots of diving or snorkeling here.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We are a couple in a 4bed/3baths big family home. You will have your own bedroom and bathroom and are very welcome to make use of the common areas.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am quite relaxed, but we like our place clean, so please help me maintain it in a good state. I can also provide you with lots of tips/recommendations on the island. Also have lots of good references on other websites I can pass on.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    ~1-2 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 462677124548